Chapter 4. Setting Up a Red Hat Enterprise Linux LVS Cluster

Chapter 4. Setting Up a Red Hat Enterprise Linux LVS Cluster

4.1. The NAT LVS Cluster
4.2. LVS Cluster via Direct Routing
4.3. Putting the Cluster Together
4.4. Multi-port Services and LVS Clustering
4.5. FTP In an LVS Cluster
4.6. Saving Network Packet Filter Settings

A Red Hat Enterprise Linux LVS cluster consists of two basic groups: the LVS routers and the real servers. To prevent a single point of failure, each groups should contain at least two member systems.

The LVS router group should consist of two identical or very similar systems running Red Hat Enterprise Linux. One will act as the active LVS router while the other stays in hot standby mode, so they need to have as close to the same capabilities as possible.

Before choosing and configuring the hardware for the real server group, you most decide what which of the three types of LVS topologies to use.

Note: This documentation is provided {and copyrighted} by Red Hat®, Inc. and is released via the Open Publication License. The copyright holder has added the further requirement that Distribution of substantively modified versions of this document is prohibited without the explicit permission of the copyright holder. The CentOS project redistributes these original works (in their unmodified form) as a reference for CentOS-5 because CentOS-5 is built from publicly available, open source SRPMS. The documentation is unmodified to be compliant with upstream distribution policy. Neither CentOS-5 nor the CentOS Project are in any way affiliated with or sponsored by Red Hat®, Inc.