Should I use CentOS?

A 5 star hangout for overworked and underpaid system admins.
CY087

Should I use CentOS?

Post by CY087 » 2012/05/11 13:59:27

Hello all,

First, let me explain that rather weak Subject line:

I am a moderately experienced Linux developer, 8 years young (and many years older). I have built and have been "living on" a very specialized set of Linux end user applications that supports the operations of thoroughbred horse trainers in regional Australia. That description warrants more explanation. What I really have is a small "company" of myself and 2 other developers. We have built, with the input of our users, an extremely niche market set of Linux applications that assist thoroughbred horse trainers to run their business. For various reasons, this is targeted at trainers who operate a stable of up to 30 or so horses.

For the last three years we have been doing this on an extremely "hacked" version of another community rpm based distro. Various recent events in the management structure and philosophies of that distro have recently made it harder for us to keep a stable development and production environment going. (More explanation, sorry, I'm not having a good day.) It is hacked in the sense that a) we use a lot of core product at the latest available stable versions, things like gsl and other statistics libraries and b) we rely on specific older versions of other core product like "lynx" and "html2text". But we have one specific need, postgresql 8.4 (because we have a large database on our server that is shared with all our customers and that is the latest that all can use).

Here are my real questions succinctly as I can put them, as I have not been able to see answers on the CentOS website or by browsing this forum:
1) Is CentOS a "release" or "rolling" based distro?
2) Can we "pin" versions of libraries?