problem in starting interface and httpd services

General support questions
kiransharma755
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015/02/27 14:30:54

problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by kiransharma755 » 2015/04/25 20:12:17

Hi,

When I issued the command ifup eth0, I got this following error

fup eth0

Determining IP information for eth0...dhclient(18065) is already running - exiting.

This version of ISC DHCP is based on the release available
on ftp.isc.org. Features have been added and other changes
have been made to the base software release in order to make
it work better with this distribution.

Please report for this software via the CentOS Bugs Database:
http://bugs.centos.org/

exiting.
failed.

After search in internet, killed the dhclient pid and did it again, it worked but got some other error message

bash-4.1# ifup eth0

Determining IP information for eth0... done.
RTNETLINK answers: File exists


2. Starting httpd

Then I started httpd services, I got this error

# service httpd restart
Stopping httpd: [ OK ]
Starting httpd: [Sat Apr 25 15:41:36 2015] [error] (EAI 2)Name or service not known: Failed to resolve server name for 192.168.1.0 (check DNS) -- or specify an explicit ServerName

my server ip is 192.168.1.4

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/25 21:11:24

It looks like httpd thinks you have an IP address of 192.168.1.0. This is not a valid IP address. It is a network address.
Make sure your IP address and hostname are entered in your /etc/hosts file.

Post the output of "ifconfig -a" and the contents of your ifcfg-eth0 file.

kiransharma755
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015/02/27 14:30:54

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by kiransharma755 » 2015/04/25 21:33:52

yes, i have
here it goes

127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
192.168.1.4 nisserv.server.com nisserv

Also, this is the content of my /etc/sysconfig/network file contents
bash-4.1# cat /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=nisserv.server.com
NISDOMAIN=server.com

though it seems working but it is annoying. What else could I check? or could it be?

Thanks

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/25 21:58:05

You could try providing the information I asked for.

kiransharma755
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015/02/27 14:30:54

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by kiransharma755 » 2015/04/26 05:44:30

Here you go
ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:4C:2B:CD
inet addr:192.168.1.4 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe4c:2bcd/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:58900 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:17195 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:24196593 (23.0 MiB) TX bytes:13377613 (12.7 MiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:4236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:285408 (278.7 KiB) TX bytes:285408 (278.7 KiB)

virbr0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 52:54:00:E3:F9:FB
inet addr:192.168.122.1 Bcast:192.168.122.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

here is the content of ifcfg-eth0
DEVICE=eth0
ONBOOT=yes
BOOTPROTO=dhcp

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/26 16:32:50

Please read the FAQ http://wiki.centos.org/FAQ/CentOS6
For a simple non-wireless configuration I would
chkconfig NetworkManager off
chkconfig network on.

What have you failed to tell us? Why do you have a vibr0 interface?
Is this a VM? DO you have a VPN running?

kiransharma755
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015/02/27 14:30:54

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by kiransharma755 » 2015/04/26 21:14:49

What have you failed to tell us? Why do you have a vibr0 interface?


It was created when I installed KVM. But I removed the kvm and qemu as well as the virbro following these steps
Or use the following command:

# virsh net-list

Name State Autostart
-----------------------------------------
default active yes

# virsh net-destroy default
# virsh net-undefine default
# service libvirtd restart
# ifconfig

When I do ifconfig, there is no more virbro. Thanks for the post.
bash-4.1# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:4C:2B:CD
inet addr:192.168.1.4 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe4c:2bcd/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:649 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:80 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:65719 (64.1 KiB) TX bytes:15065 (14.7 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:632 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:632 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:39440 (38.5 KiB) TX bytes:39440 (38.5 KiB)
bash-4.1#

However, when I restart the httpd, I am getting same error.

=========RESULT OF chkconfig for two services.

bash-4.1# chkconfig NetworkManager off
error reading information on service NetworkManager: No such file or directory
bash-4.1# chkconfig network on
bash-4.1# service httpd restart
Stopping httpd: [ OK ]
Starting httpd: [Sun Apr 26 17:04:42 2015] [error] (EAI 2)Name or service not known: Failed to resolve server name for 192.168.1.0 (check DNS) -- or specify an explicit ServerName
[ OK ]

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/26 21:22:38

As stated before, httpd needs to do a reverse dns lookup to verify the machine name against the IP address.
You probably have no local nameserver that resolves local IP address, so you need to add an entry for your IP in /etc/hosts.

Please show us your /etc/hosts file.

kiransharma755
Posts: 46
Joined: 2015/02/27 14:30:54

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by kiransharma755 » 2015/04/26 23:02:24

so you need to add an entry for your IP in /etc/hosts.

I already have the ip in the /etc/hosts file

bash-4.1# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.localdomain localhost4 localhost4.localdomain4
192.168.1.4 nisserv.server.com nisserv


here is the output of /ec/sysconfig/network file in case you want to see it

bash-4.1# cat /etc/sysconfig/network
NETWORKING=yes
HOSTNAME=nisserv.server.com
NISDOMAIN=server.com

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: problem in starting interface and httpd services

Post by gerald_clark » 2015/04/26 23:29:54

What changes did you make to /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf ?
What is the output of "rpm -q httpd" ?

Post Reply