possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

General support questions
Post Reply
hoodcanaljim
Posts: 267
Joined: 2006/02/05 17:49:10

possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by hoodcanaljim » 2018/02/02 02:43:25

Hi

I made the switch to C7 at my desktop by moving all the data from my C6.9 computer A (both are Dell 390 precision workstations) to computer B where a new updated centos7 was installed on a Seagate 2TB drive. Now both are working fine in their respective computers. And I can install the drive from B into my desktop computer A and boot it with a running system OK!.

But on the other computer B when I try to mount the 2 hd's (winxp sda and cento6.9 sdb) they will not boot up. Once it ends the Dell startup screen a blinking cursor appears in the upper right corner and after a minute or so the words ERROR 21 appears. I never see any mention of grub before this happens.
I have booted both A & B with these two drives mounted and a Puppy Linux DVD in the drive and it shows both drives in the same positions as:
sda1 sda2 sda3 sda4 sdb1
sda is a WD 500gb with winxt sdb is a SG 2TB with C6.9
sda1 shows a /boot directory and shows bootmgr, bootnxt, bootsect.bak, recovery, and system volume information
sdb1 shows a /grub directory
Below is the grub.conf file from sdb1/grub
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd1,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_ted-lv_root
# initrd /initrd-[generic-]version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title CentOS (2.6.32-696.20.1.el6.x86_64)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-696.20.1.el6.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_ted-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_root rd_NO_LUKS LANG=en_US.UTF-8 nomodeset rd_NO_MD SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 crashkernel=128M rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_swap KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rd_NO_DM rhgb quiet nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-696.20.1.el6.x86_64.img
title CentOS (2.6.32-696.18.7.el6.x86_64)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-696.18.7.el6.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_ted-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_root rd_NO_LUKS LANG=en_US.UTF-8 nomodeset rd_NO_MD SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 crashkernel=128M rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_swap KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rd_NO_DM rhgb quiet nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-696.18.7.el6.x86_64.img
title CentOS (2.6.32-696.16.1.el6.x86_64)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.32-696.16.1.el6.x86_64 ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_ted-lv_root rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_root rd_NO_LUKS LANG=en_US.UTF-8 nomodeset rd_NO_MD SYSFONT=latarcyrheb-sun16 crashkernel=128M rd_LVM_LV=vg_ted/lv_swap KEYBOARDTYPE=pc KEYTABLE=us rd_NO_DM rhgb quiet nouveau.modeset=0 rdblacklist=nouveau
initrd /initramfs-2.6.32-696.16.1.el6.x86_64.img
title Win10-64
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1
The only obvious difference I can see between the two computers is A bios is 2.4.0 and B has 2.6.0 bios

Anyone have any ideas why the (2) drives from computer A won't boot on computer B??
I am sure there are plenty of issues between them that I don't have any idea about....

Thanks
Jim

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22806
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by TrevorH » 2018/02/02 07:28:29

And is the BIOS configured to set the drives in the same priority order on both machines?
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

hoodcanaljim
Posts: 267
Joined: 2006/02/05 17:49:10

Re: possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by hoodcanaljim » 2018/02/02 15:38:47

TrevorH

I can't find anything in the bios that will can allow setting which drive to boot from. Only the sequence for type of hardware to boot from.

Reversing the connections of the hard drives gets a response of
error: unknow filesystem
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>

Thank for your help once again
Jim

tunk
Posts: 334
Joined: 2017/02/22 15:08:17

Re: possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by tunk » 2018/02/02 16:20:53

On most PC at boot there's a key to press to enter a menu where you can select which device to boot from.
In your case it may be F12.

hoodcanaljim
Posts: 267
Joined: 2006/02/05 17:49:10

Re: possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by hoodcanaljim » 2018/02/02 16:53:03

tunk

Yes on my computer its the F2 key that gets you into the bios screen where you can adjust the boot order as in usb or cd, usb, onboard sata, etc.

Thanks
Jim

hoodcanaljim
Posts: 267
Joined: 2006/02/05 17:49:10

Re: possible grub erro moving hd's to another computer

Post by hoodcanaljim » 2018/02/03 04:03:01

Well, as I sat here 2 hrs ago and the power failed again. I was struck by more than darkness, with the generator running I went into the bios on computer B and activated the second hard drive (sdb1) and now it boots up just fine!

Even a blind pig occasionally finds a truffle.
Sorry I wasted your time.

Thanks
Jim

Post Reply