ffmpeg not working after repository change

Issues related to applications and software problems
Post Reply
samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

ffmpeg not working after repository change

Post by samrat_rao » 2015/05/15 11:46:03

Hi,

I am using both 64 bit and 32 bit versions on different desktops.

After i was told by Trevor to replace rpmforge repo by rpmfusion repo viewtopic.php?f=14&t=47690, i changed all the dependencies and packages from rpmforge to rpmfusion. But now ffmpeg is now working correctly when i want to reduce resolution from 1080p to 720p.

This command used to give good quality videos when ffmpeg was from rpmforge:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -y -b 5120k -s hd720 output.mp4
But now the above command gives an error:
ffmpeg version 0.10.15 Copyright (c) 2000-2014 the FFmpeg developers
built on Aug 30 2014 16:16:02 with gcc 4.4.7 20120313 (Red Hat 4.4.7-3)
configuration: --prefix=/usr --bindir=/usr/bin --datadir=/usr/share/ffmpeg --incdir=/usr/include/ffmpeg --libdir=/usr/lib --mandir=/usr/share/man --arch=i686 --extra-cflags='-O2 -g -pipe -Wall -Wp,-D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -fexceptions -fstack-protector --param=ssp-buffer-size=4 -m32 -march=i686 -mtune=atom -fasynchronous-unwind-tables' --enable-bzlib --disable-crystalhd --enable-gnutls --enable-libass --enable-libcdio --enable-libcelt --enable-libdc1394 --disable-indev=jack --enable-libfreetype --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-openal --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libpulse --enable-librtmp --enable-libschroedinger --enable-libspeex --enable-libtheora --enable-libvorbis --enable-libv4l2 --enable-libx264 --enable-libxvid --enable-x11grab --enable-avfilter --enable-postproc --enable-pthreads --disable-static --enable-shared --enable-gpl --disable-debug --disable-stripping --shlibdir=/usr/lib --cpu=i686 --enable-runtime-cpudetect
libavutil 51. 35.100 / 51. 35.100
libavcodec 53. 61.100 / 53. 61.100
libavformat 53. 32.100 / 53. 32.100
libavdevice 53. 4.100 / 53. 4.100
libavfilter 2. 61.100 / 2. 61.100
libswscale 2. 1.100 / 2. 1.100
libswresample 0. 6.100 / 0. 6.100
libpostproc 52. 0.100 / 52. 0.100
[mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2 @ 0x9e7e120] multiple edit list entries, a/v desync might occur, patch welcome
Input #0, mov,mp4,m4a,3gp,3g2,mj2, from 'input.mp4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 0
compatible_brands: mp42isom
Duration: 00:20:59.00, start: 0.000000, bitrate: 6125 kb/s
Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264 (High) (avc1 / 0x31637661), yuv420p, 1920x1080 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], 5991 kb/s, 29.97 fps, 29.97 tbr, 90k tbn, 59.94 tbc
Metadata:
handler_name :
Stream #0:1(eng): Audio: aac (mp4a / 0x6134706D), 48000 Hz, stereo, s16, 128 kb/s
Metadata:
handler_name :
Please use -b:a or -b:v, -b is ambiguous
[buffer @ 0x9e88380] w:1920 h:1080 pixfmt:yuv420p tb:1/1000000 sar:1/1 sws_param:
[scale @ 0x9e88820] w:1920 h:1080 fmt:yuv420p -> w:1280 h:720 fmt:yuv420p flags:0x4
Incompatible sample format 's16' for codec 'aac', auto-selecting format 'flt'
[libx264 @ 0x9e87140] using SAR=1/1
[libx264 @ 0x9e87140] using cpu capabilities: none!
[libx264 @ 0x9e87140] profile High, level 3.1
[libx264 @ 0x9e87140] 264 - core 120 r2151 a3f4407 - H.264/MPEG-4 AVC codec - Copyleft 2003-2011 - http://www.videolan.org/x264.html - options: cabac=1 ref=3 deblock=1:0:0 analyse=0x3:0x113 me=hex subme=7 psy=1 psy_rd=1.00:0.00 mixed_ref=1 me_range=16 chroma_me=1 trellis=1 8x8dct=1 cqm=0 deadzone=21,11 fast_pskip=1 chroma_qp_offset=-2 threads=1 sliced_threads=0 nr=0 decimate=1 interlaced=0 bluray_compat=0 constrained_intra=0 bframes=3 b_pyramid=2 b_adapt=1 b_bias=0 direct=1 weightb=1 open_gop=0 weightp=2 keyint=250 keyint_min=25 scenecut=40 intra_refresh=0 rc_lookahead=40 rc=abr mbtree=1 bitrate=5120 ratetol=1.0 qcomp=0.60 qpmin=0 qpmax=69 qpstep=4 ip_ratio=1.40 aq=1:1.00
[NULL @ 0x9e87ae0] Codec is experimental but experimental codecs are not enabled, see -strict -2
Output #0, mp4, to 'output.mp4':
Metadata:
major_brand : mp42
minor_version : 0
compatible_brands: mp42isom
Stream #0:0(eng): Video: h264, yuv420p, 1280x720 [SAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=-1--1, 5120 kb/s, 90k tbn, 29.97 tbc
Metadata:
handler_name :
Stream #0:1(eng): Audio: none, 48000 Hz, stereo, flt, 128 kb/s
Metadata:
handler_name :
Stream mapping:
Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (h264 -> libx264)
Stream #0:1 -> #0:1 (aac -> aac)
Error while opening encoder for output stream #0:1 - maybe incorrect parameters such as bit_rate, rate, width or height
I searched on the net and tried some options, the one that works for ffmpeg from rpmfusion is:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -y -acodec copy -s hd720 output.mp4
But this process takes a lot of time as the number of frames per second is very less. Also output.mp4 has jittery video quality. There is nothing wrong with input.mp4 as the old ffmeg worked correctly on input.mp4, the new ffmpeg does not.

Thanks for any suggestions.

User avatar
toracat
Site Admin
Posts: 7518
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: ffmpeg not working after repository change

Post by toracat » 2015/05/15 15:07:25

If you don't get any answer here, I'd suggest you ask on the ffmpeg mailing list.
CentOS Forum FAQ

samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

Re: ffmpeg not working after repository change

Post by samrat_rao » 2015/05/25 07:17:48

Hi Toracat, thanks for the reply.

Actually i downloaded ffmpeg-2.6.2 and compiled it: ./configure --prefix=/usr/local/pkgs/ffmpeg_2.6. This ffmpeg works fine with this command

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -y -acodec copy -s hd720 output.mp4
Do you still suggest that i write to the ffmpeg mailing list?

scottro
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2556
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: ffmpeg not working after repository change

Post by scottro » 2015/05/25 18:57:57

I don't keep track of which distribution's version does aac and which don't

However, if you use

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i input.mp4 -y -b 5120k -s hd720 -acode aac -strict -2 output.mp4
I suspect it would work. It was probably copying the codec, which was probably aac, which in most versions of ffmpeg that I've used in RH based distributions, meaning rpmforge's, nux's, (I think) and rpmfusion, aac is considered experimental--depending upon the actual command you give--for example had you run it with -acodec copy, you might have gotten the message which is something like aac is experimental, to use it add -strict -2 or something like that--sorry, don't remember the exact message or what I did to get it.

But no, I wouldn't write the ffmpeg mailing list. Apparently the vanilla version works.
New users should check the FAQ and Read Me First pages

Post Reply