A few questions from a Debain user...

Issues related to applications and software problems
bobby21

A few questions from a Debain user...

Post by bobby21 » 2014/04/23 12:19:51

Hi all,

I am new to the RPM/CentOS world, but have used Debain based distros for a while. I've come across a couple of questions recently that I have been unable to find the answers to...

I have an old laptop that I use as a NAS/Server and am currently playing with the idea of changing it to CentOS from Debain. I use Avahi to facilitate local discovery of CUPS printers and make them available to all devices. I noticed that the version of Avahi that is in the EL6 repos is 0.6.25, whereas I would like to use 0.6.31 (or at least something higher than 0.6.25 to start) because my printers aren't showing up automagically with 0.6.25. I added the EPEL repo hoping a newer version might be in there but when I type 'yum info avahi' I am still presented with version 0.6.25, I also added the REMI repo, but no luck. I imagine that getting a higher version installed won't be too easy due to dependencies, but can someone give me some advice/pointers?

Also, In Debian, I have been used to 'apt-get install avahi' and the service is installed, started and pre-configured with basic settings. In CentOS, I have to 'yum install avahi' then 'chkconfig avahi-daemon on' then edit avahi's conf file, then finally 'service avahi-daemon start'. This might seem like a dumb question - but is the world of RH/CentOS usually this 'manual'? I mean, I don't mind tinkering in the terminal or anything but it's just a gear change from Debian is all.

Super Jamie

Re: A few questions from a Debain user...

Post by Super Jamie » 2014/04/23 13:04:54

Enterprise Linux (so RHEL, and then CentOS which is compiled from the RHEL source) is built from a snapshot of Fedora at a point in time. In the case of EL6, this snapshot was taken around late 2009.