Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by samrat_rao » 2017/02/17 17:17:58

Hi,

I'm having a i368 machine running 6.6. Whenever i type

Code: Select all

yum check-update
i get
Loaded plugins: presto, priorities, protectbase, refresh-packagekit, security, upgrade-helper
Could not retrieve mirrorlist http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=6 ... 86&repo=os error was
14: PYCURL ERROR 7 - "couldn't connect to host"
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: base. Please verify its path and try again
I am using a proxy server. So i added these lines in /etc/yum.conf:

Code: Select all

proxy=http://172.27.16.15:3128
proxy_username=user_name
proxy_password=user_passwd
But this did not help. I also then added the lines in /etc/environment. Buth this too did not help:

Code: Select all

ttp_proxy="http://172.27.16.15:3128"
https_proxy="https://172.27.16.15:3128"
ftp_proxy="ftp://172.27.16.15:3128"
Can someone help?

Thanks.

User avatar
avij
Retired Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: 2010/12/01 19:25:52
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by avij » 2017/02/17 17:31:16

Looks like your server can't talk to the proxy. Try these for diagnostics:
ping -c4 172.27.16.15
telnet 172.27.16.15 3128 (this requires telnet to be installed)
nc -v 172.27.16.15 3128 (this requires nc to be installed)
URLGRABBER_DEBUG=1,debug.log yum check-update (this does not require any extra packages, debug output is directed to debug.log)

samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

Re: Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by samrat_rao » 2017/02/18 09:31:43

Hi avij,

Thanks for your reply. I did as you said:

Code: Select all

ping -c4 172.27.16.15
PING 172.27.16.15 (172.27.16.15) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 172.27.16.15: icmp_seq=1 ttl=63 time=20.2 ms
64 bytes from 172.27.16.15: icmp_seq=2 ttl=63 time=4.18 ms
64 bytes from 172.27.16.15: icmp_seq=3 ttl=63 time=4.05 ms
64 bytes from 172.27.16.15: icmp_seq=4 ttl=63 time=4.03 ms

--- 172.27.16.15 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3007ms

Code: Select all

telnet 172.27.16.15 3128
Trying 172.27.16.14...
Connected to 172.27.16.14.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.

Code: Select all

nc -v 172.27.16.15 3128
Connection to 172.27.16.15 3128 port [tcp/squid] succeeded!
I have also tried another ip address: 172.27.16.14, and the same thing happens.

The 2nd and 3rd commands take a lot of time to execute.

I am able to browse the new using my old version of Firefox. For this i can use both 172.27.16.15:3128 and 172.27.16.14:3128

Thanks again.

User avatar
avij
Retired Moderator
Posts: 3046
Joined: 2010/12/01 19:25:52
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by avij » 2017/02/18 09:43:12

OK, so looks like your proxy server is reachable. Running URLGRABBER_DEBUG=1,debug.log yum check-update might tell you more about the problem.

samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

Re: Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by samrat_rao » 2017/02/18 09:48:21

Hi avij,

Code: Select all

yum check-update
seems to be working now, but the net connection is extremely slow, and i had to disable yum plugin fastestmirror

samrat_rao
Posts: 111
Joined: 2010/03/10 18:03:54
Location: India, Bangalore

Re: Unable to update from 6.6 to 6.8

Post by samrat_rao » 2017/03/06 16:29:18

Hi,

I was able to update my system. Thanks, avij for your help.

Post Reply