Error in named configuration

Issues related to configuring your network
MartinR
Posts: 714
Joined: 2015/05/11 07:53:27
Location: UK

Re: Error in named configuration

Post by MartinR » 2018/02/21 14:21:23

We're getting away from your DNS, but there still seems to be an oddity in resolv.conf. I can ping both servers but they do not return any name information to me. Lets see if you get the same results:

Code: Select all

$ dig @8.8.8.8 -x 207.68.222.222

; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.62.rc1.el6_9.5 <<>> @8.8.8.8 -x 207.68.222.222
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 16740
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;222.222.68.207.in-addr.arpa.	IN	PTR

;; ANSWER SECTION:
222.222.68.207.in-addr.arpa. 1799 IN	PTR	207-68-222-222.nctc.net.

;; Query time: 167 msec
;; SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8)
;; WHEN: Wed Feb 21 14:10:17 2018
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 82
We are asking Google to do a reverse translation of 207.68.222.222. See the line near the bottom: SERVER: 8.8.8.8#53(8.8.8.8), that shows we are talking to Google and being served by it. Look at the answer section and you can see 222.222.68.207.in-addr.arpa. 1799 IN PTR 207-68-222-222.nctc.net. which is good. Now:

Code: Select all

$ dig @207.68.222.222 -x 8.8.8.8

; <<>> DiG 9.8.2rc1-RedHat-9.8.2-0.62.rc1.el6_9.5 <<>> @207.68.222.222 -x 8.8.8.8
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
No server responded and no answer was returned. You can try pinging 207.68.222.222 to prove the connection exists.

Try renaming resolv.conf to resolv.conf.orig, then creating a new resolv.conf with the following contents:

Code: Select all

; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
and then just try $ dig 8.8.4.4.

shan2naruto
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017/11/24 12:10:18

Re: Error in named configuration

Post by shan2naruto » 2018/02/21 15:30:04

Ah finally i'm able to ping google.com after changing nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf bro thanks a bunch going to try install in the slave machine

shan2naruto
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017/11/24 12:10:18

Re: Error in named configuration

Post by shan2naruto » 2018/02/21 16:16:53

@martin thanks a bunch my slave dns is also working perfectly. you can mark this thread as solved.

MartinR
Posts: 714
Joined: 2015/05/11 07:53:27
Location: UK

Re: Error in named configuration

Post by MartinR » 2018/02/21 18:20:28

Remember to change the DNS1 and DNS2 settings in ifcfg-eth0 or else your /etc/resolv.conf will be overwritten.

Devourer
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018/01/29 10:15:59

Re: Error in named configuration

Post by Devourer » 2018/02/26 20:38:16

well you are using following nameservers instead of localhost (If I get it right, this is what you want)
nameserver 207.68.222.222
nameserver 207.68.220.220


you can try to resolve something using "dig" command and specifying server with @
for eg:

dig mydomain.eg @localhost


You will get answered by your named server (running on localhost) if you want to test from other machine, just replace localhost with IP

Post Reply