Page 1 of 1

eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2011/11/27 12:58:24
by agriz
How do i enable my network in terminal?

Thanks

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2011/11/28 09:52:57
by dejanst
Edit the cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ethX (X is the index of your NIC) according to your network topology and manipulate with the NIC up/down status with commands ifup/ifdown.

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2011/11/28 09:56:06
by alirezaheidari
[size=96][color=000066][font=Arial]this is so easy..[/font][/color][/size]
you just..
[code]su - root[/code]
[code]/sbin/ifconfig eth0[/code]
[code]/sbin/ifconfig eth0 up[/code]
enjoy it..

eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2011/11/28 21:17:01
by pschaff
CentOS-6 uses NetworkManager by default. If you wish to use the "traditional" network service from the command line then use chkconfig to disable NetworkManager and make sure the network service is running. If etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 (or whatever your device is named) has a line[code]NM_CONTROLLED="yes"[/code]change it to[code]NM_CONTROLLED="no"[/code]

See also [url=http://wiki.centos.org/FAQ/CentOS6#head-b67e85d98f0e9f1b599358105c551632c6ff7c90]CentOS-6 FAQ #2. Why does my Ethernet not work unless I log in and explicitly enable it?[/url]

If more help is needed then please explain the problem more completely and [url=http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=28723&forum=54]provide more information about your system[/url] by running "./getinfo.sh network" and showing us the output file.

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2011/11/29 08:07:04
by pkoraca
I did a minimal CentOS installation on Hyper-V and by default I didn't have network file in /etc/sysconfig/ and ifcfg-eth0 in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts so I had to create those two files.

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2014/11/25 14:56:35
by minigts
Just wanted to post because this helped me. I'm running CentOS 7. For my version, the path is correct but eth0 was named and I had an option of ONBOOT=NO, set it to YES and this set my NIC as active on boot.

Thanks again for the help!

Re: eth0 - How to enable?

Posted: 2014/11/29 19:02:33
by automatikdonn
You can also type sudo ifup eth0

As posted before make sure ONBOOT = yes