Page 3 of 3

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2013/10/05 15:01:27
by TrevorH
what is the difference between 0777 and 1777?


`man chmod` details the various bit settings but the 1 is 'sticky'. It's required for /tmp

mount -a returns nothing for me!


Means there were no errors while mounting all available filesystems in fstab

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2013/10/05 18:10:29
by scottro
I have a good article, written by someone else, and on my pages with his permission, at http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu/chmod.html

Makes it, IMHO, easy for people to understand it.

As for mount -a, as Trevor says, when it returns you to a command prompt, that's a good thing. It is one way to test that your fstab is working properly--if there are issues with your fstab file you will get errors, not a prompt.

EDIT: (I'd originally typed the link incorrectly, hence the posts below about not being able to find it and the correct url.)

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2013/10/06 04:21:57
by agriz
link is not working

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2013/10/06 06:35:41
by vonskippy

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2013/10/06 11:27:59
by scottro
Well, that's embarrassing. Thank you vonskippy. I'll fix it in the original post, too.

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2017/08/30 22:17:48
by valllem
Hi all

I am wanting to edit fstab in order to mount a new drive i have added to my server. How would i go about this correctly?
Thanks in advance.

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2017/08/31 01:36:25
by Whoever
Start by running:

Code: Select all

man fstab

Re: How to edit fstab?

Posted: 2017/08/31 09:09:57
by TrevorH
And please don't hijack ancient threads and bring them back from the dead. Locked.

Start your own topic if you need assistance. Use a descriptive subject and post in the relevant forum section.