Need help using Monit and monitoring a process

General support questions including new installations
AJ800

Need help using Monit and monitoring a process

Post by AJ800 » 2014/03/18 18:43:33

We're using Avaya IP Office and our Voicemail server is installed on a CentOS machine with no GUI. I'm a Linux newbie so bear with me here. There is a service which is part of Voicemail Pro that is basically responsible for the proper operation our entire phone system (it is our answering system). For some reason, this service stops randomly - sometimes once every few days, sometimes a few times a day. I have a feeling it is because we were told to record all calls because this started happening when we set this to do so. The software has a web interface which shows that service and one other running or not. It has a button you can click to start or stop the service, so when it stops, it's as simple as logging in and clicking it to restart it. It does NOT explain why it stopped nor does it start itself once it stops, which it is supposed to do. The system resources appear to be normal, where the CPU does not seem to go above 15% and the memory of that process only hits an average of less that 30MB, while the other service runs at 600+MB and never stops.

Since this system has been delicate, and support is very difficult, if I can't find the root cause of this (which may simply be a program bug) all I want to do is install a program that monitors processes and starts them automatically if they've stopped for whatever reason. I looked up a few things and a program called 'Monit' was at the top of the list. I was able to install it in a Virtual Machine for testing, but the problem is, in CentOS on the actual machine, when I run the following command:

Code: Select all

services --status-all