How to get Java to work in Firefox

General support questions including new installations
mark0419
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007/07/12 15:17:59

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by mark0419 » 2007/07/12 15:23:08

I had been having the same problems as the other posters here. The jre-6u1 install worked ok, but the plugin never executed. This appears to be a libdeploy.so linking issue which causes problems with javaws and plugins.

http://bugs.sun.com/bugdatabase/view_bug.do?bug_id=6542512

User avatar
john_coach
Posts: 52
Joined: 2006/07/01 20:45:44
Contact:

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by john_coach » 2007/07/14 21:32:39

Hi,

I'm back - after having ISP/NIC problems for a week !

I thought there was something I was trying to do before all those problems...

So I tried the previous version, as per post #26 (WhatsHisName) in this topic.

It all works fine !

Here is what I did, I hope you can follow.

NB. I had previously installed/removed jre stuff several times, so my starting system was not 'clean'.

1st - remove all old installed jre bits:

yum remove jre
rm /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
rm /var/lib/alternatives/java

I still had:
/usr/bin/java /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java

so I then ran:
/usr/sbin/alternatives --install /usr/bin/java java /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java 1

then, I do get:
/usr/sbin/alternatives --display java
java - status is auto.
link currently points to /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java
/usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java - priority 1
Current `best' version is /usr/lib/jvm/jre-1.4.2-gcj/bin/java.

so I also had to edit /etc/profile.d/java.sh to fix the path.

so my system is now starting from the point of :-

# rpm -qa | grep java
java-1.4.2-gcj-compat-1.4.2.0-40jpp.112
libgtk-java-2.8.7-3.el5
cairo-java-1.0.5-3.fc6
libgconf-java-2.12.4-6.el5
glib-java-0.2.6-3.fc6

NB. comparing with a clean CentOS 5 install, there are some differences:
/var/lib/alternatives/java - is a different size
/etc/profile.d/java.sh - did not exist

then install previous version, as per post #26 (WhatsHisName) in this topic:

http://java.sun.com/products/archive/
got file: jre-1_5_0_11-linux-i586-rpm.bin

chmod a+x jre-1_5_0_11-linux-i586-rpm.bin
./jre-1_5_0_11-linux-i586-rpm.bin -x
rpm -ivh ./jre-1_5_0_11-linux-i586.rpm
cd /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
ln -s /usr/java/jre1.5.0_11/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so .

restart all browswers - it works !
NB. http://java.com/en/ = plays stuff with sound.


yum check-update - does not list any jre bits, so I guess its safe to upgrade generally
and the 'none working' Version 6 Update 2 will not be installed over the older working version.


Thanks to 'WhatsHisName' !

John.

andymerrall
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007/05/28 12:13:06
Location: Luton, UK
Contact:

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by andymerrall » 2007/07/16 00:51:38

Whoa! What a frakup.

Ok. Start by clearing out /usr/java. chattr +s on everything there then rm -rf to get rid. Don't forget the tab button on your keyboard will auto-complete most of this for you. The easy way here.

start with: su -l
root password...

directories like /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins /home/'user'/.mozilla/plugins /usr/lib/firefox/plugins will all have a libjavaplugin_oji.so symlink.
rm -f libjavaplugin_oji.so to start with.

now download the latest java from:
[url=http://javadl.sun.com/webapps/download/AutoDL?BundleId=11283]click here to download the latest java runtime env[/url]

first: mv jre-6u2-linux-i586-rpm.bin /usr/java/

now: chmod a+x jre-6u2-linux-i586-rpm.bin

now: ./jre-6u2-linux-i586-rpm

click y for yes (Muppet)

make sure that firefox is closed down. ie. ps -e
17533 ? 00:01:45 firefox-bin
kill 17533

now: cd /home/'user'/.mozilla/plugins

now: ln -s /usr/java/default/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

now goto: [url=http://java.com/en/download/installed.jsp]click here to varify jre[/url]

It's easy. Took me five minutes to update from jre-6u1 to jre-6u2. That's after upgrading from CentOS 4.5 to 5.0. I'll happliy set up an SSH session and do it for you.

timclendenen
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007/07/17 06:07:58

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by timclendenen » 2007/07/17 07:01:06

I had the issue where everything seemed to be set up correct but I couldn't get applets to work. I finally figured out that compat-libstdc++-33-*.i386 wasn't installed but the plug in depends on it. Once I installed that the applets started working.

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1549
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/07/17 16:25:08

Yes, timclendenen?s fix (yum install compat-libstdc++-33.i386) worked on both systems I described in post #28. Both systems are now successfully running jre-1.6.0_02-fcs.

Many thanks!

User avatar
john_coach
Posts: 52
Joined: 2006/07/01 20:45:44
Contact:

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by john_coach » 2007/07/26 16:06:15

Same for me. Once I installed compat-libstdc++-33.i386, then the latest jre worked.

I now have Java Runtime Environment (JRE) 6 Update 2

Thanks,
John.

hobbes80
Posts: 33
Joined: 2007/10/26 14:47:04

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by hobbes80 » 2007/10/26 15:05:44

This works with 1.6.0_03 also.

name256
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008/05/28 11:11:42

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by name256 » 2008/05/28 12:06:14

hey all... i tried all that was on post # 14 and i was able to get most of the things to work but i eventually tried something different for the last command for installing the java plugin into mozilla and it worked.

i have the jdk 1.6.0 installed therefore i ran this command

ln -s /usr/java/jdk1.6.0/jre/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

there is also the ns7-gcc29 in th i386 directory for me therefore it depends on what will work for u

when i typed about:plugins on my browser, this is what i got

Java(TM) Plug-in 1.6.0-b105

File name: libjavaplugin_oji.so
Java(TM) Plug-in 1.6.0

MIME Type Description Suffixes Enabled
application/x-java-vm Java Yes
application/x-java-applet Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.3 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.3 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.3.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.5 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;version=1.6 Java Yes
application/x-java-applet;jpi-version=1.6 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.3 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.3 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.3.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4.1 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4.2 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.5 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;version=1.6 Java Yes
application/x-java-bean;jpi-version=1.6 Java Yes


hope it works for the rest of you...

i got it from this site where the manual plugin installation instructions are given

http://www.java.com/en/download/help/5000010500.xml#14


now i can have Live Timing for the formula 1 website :-D

NedSlider
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2897
Joined: 2005/10/28 13:11:50
Location: UK

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by NedSlider » 2008/05/28 12:09:39

Glad you got it working :-)

[quote]
name256 wrote:

now i can have Live Timing for the formula 1 website :-D[/quote]

LOL, I know, that's really neat isn't it :-D

rookie7799
Posts: 3
Joined: 2010/12/14 23:22:47

Re: How to get Java to work in Firefox

Post by rookie7799 » 2010/12/14 23:51:14

Hey guys,
I'm stuck with this java plugin for 2 hours already. I've tried so many different variations its not even funny!!!

My system: CentOS 5.5 x64
FF version: 3.6.13

I currently removed firefox 64bit and left only i386 one.

I have the following:
inside ~/.mozilla/plugins/ AND /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins

lrwxrwxrwx 1 root 58 Dec 14 18:34 libjavaplugin_oji.so -> /usr/java/jre1.6.0_23/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

about:plugins says: No plugins are installed

is there anything i can try here ???

Thank you !

Post Reply