Centos 5.9 and swap memory

Issues related to software problems.
Post Reply
bkabhilash
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014/08/01 17:08:55

Centos 5.9 and swap memory

Post by bkabhilash » 2014/08/01 17:29:39

Hello Guys,

I hope you can help me.
My server running in centos 5.9 is not using swap memory.
The top command always shows swap memory used as 132 KB even when RAM utilization is 100%.
The server has 32 GB RAM and during installation I have allocated 32 GB hard disk space for swap.

Your suggestions will be really helpful.

Regards,
Abhilash

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 26915
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Centos 5.9 and swap memory

Post by TrevorH » 2014/08/01 18:23:37

It'll only use swap if it needs to use swap. Obviously on your system it doesn't need to do so. You might want to read http://www.linuxatemyram.com for an explanation of how linux uses memory - basically unused memory is wasted memory so whatever is not actively used by programs will be used for caching files.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
CentOS 6 goes EOL sooner rather than later, get upgrading!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: Centos 5.9 and swap memory

Post by gerald_clark » 2014/08/01 19:05:56

You need to update immediately to 5.10.
32G of swap is nuts unless you are suspending to swap.
If you use more than 512M of swap your machine will be doing nothing useful.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - Software Support”