Won't take hostname

Issues related to configuring your network
RobTheAdmin
Posts: 80
Joined: 2008/03/30 13:58:12
Location: Tennessee
Contact:

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby RobTheAdmin » 2009/02/24 17:26:26

AlanJBartlett wrote:
A man hostname command will tell you all you need to know.

Rob is quite correct (if he wasn't, he wouldn't deserve the TheAdmin epithet :-D ), the /etc/sysconfig/network file is the place that your hostname should be defined.


Haha, well, I wouldn't say I *deserve* TheAdmin epithet. I'm a true Linux newb, yet I am The Admin at my company, which is why I chose this username. Always verify what I say, I could be exceptionally wrong!

DennyCrane
Posts: 33
Joined: 2009/02/18 14:02:50

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby DennyCrane » 2009/02/24 17:34:26

Ugh ... I'm pretty new at this server administration thing. How might I be able to determine what file is being executed that changes the /etc/hosts file?

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby gerald_clark » 2009/02/24 17:50:26

Talk to your VPS provider.
When your virtual machine is booted, your network is probably reconfigured by the virtual manager.

DennyCrane
Posts: 33
Joined: 2009/02/18 14:02:50

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby DennyCrane » 2009/02/26 04:39:11

Our host actually contacted us to mention that they accidentally used an old corrupted image for the VPS or something. Go figure. They finished re-doing the thing today. Thanks for the replies -- I appreciate your time.

Nate

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby gerald_clark » 2009/02/26 15:19:40

You are welcome.

rroopstr
Posts: 11
Joined: 2016/04/28 20:05:55

Re: Won't take hostname

Postby rroopstr » 2016/04/29 04:03:11

Happy New Year 2016 to all of you!!!!
7 years later, I am going through the same issue. I uninstalled control panel and am telling my ISP to fix the hostname and local host. My use of # sudo vim /etc/sysconfig/network and # sudo vim /etc/hosts was exactly as frustrating as yours.