how to make a website browseable over the internet

Installing, Configuring, Troubleshooting server daemons such as Web and Mail
Post Reply
nick_n0ck
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/12/11 10:16:16

how to make a website browseable over the internet

Post by nick_n0ck » 2013/12/11 10:31:03

hello,

I setted up a LAMP server here at the office. and forwarded the port 80 to the ip address of my server but still i cant quite access the content of the website that i hosted. I am running out of options. I have a static IP from my ISP. and over at the dot.tk domain i forwarded the address to my public Static Ip but still i cant access the website.

Please help me. i want to host our company's website here at the office to lessen the cost of Webhosting

Thank you

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 26884
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: how to make a website browseable over the internet

Post by TrevorH » 2013/12/11 12:52:23

Check the output of `iptables-save` to see if port 80 is allowed through.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
CentOS 6 goes EOL sooner rather than later, get upgrading!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

nick_n0ck
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/12/11 10:16:16

Re: how to make a website browseable over the internet

Post by nick_n0ck » 2013/12/12 07:53:35

its allowed if i Telnet it Via port 80 i can connect. it only says waiting for example.com on the bottom left of the webpage. what seems to be the problem?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 26884
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: how to make a website browseable over the internet

Post by TrevorH » 2013/12/12 08:50:53

Where did you telnet from? If from the same machine then it's not a valid test, you'd need to do it from outside too.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
CentOS 6 goes EOL sooner rather than later, get upgrading!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

nick_n0ck
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013/12/11 10:16:16

Re: how to make a website browseable over the internet

Post by nick_n0ck » 2013/12/13 11:22:28

i think my firewall is causing all this. i am using endian firewall.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - Server Support”