Firefox exiting?

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, IA-64, and PowerPC)
Post Reply
movieman
Posts: 180
Joined: 2008/03/20 05:19:16
Location: Canada

Firefox exiting?

Post by movieman » 2008/03/23 19:31:20

Has anyone else noticed Firefox or OpenOffice exiting without any kind of error on x64? It happens regularly on my CentOS 5.0 PC with an nvidia card, and occasionally on my 5.1 PC with an ATI card; I'm guessing it's something to do with the X-server as it doesn't exit when I run across the network through SSH and display on another PC running i386 RH5.

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7386
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: Firefox exiting?

Post by toracat » 2008/03/24 00:11:35

Di you mean firefox suddenly closes without any leaving errors? You might want to check out this (very long) thread:

http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?viewmode=flat&topic_id=11589&forum=38

movieman
Posts: 180
Joined: 2008/03/20 05:19:16
Location: Canada

Re: Firefox exiting?

Post by movieman » 2008/03/25 05:30:07

Interesting. As some people on that thread suggested, it does seem to be flash-related in some way on the 5.1 machine (e.g. honda.ca seems to easily make Firefox disappear), though I don't think the 5.0 machine has flash installed.

However, Open Office vanishes too, and I don't think that would have the same problems.

Edit: oh, it doesn't seem to happen if I run Firefox on the 5.1 box and display it on my Windows laptop through SSH either.

movieman
Posts: 180
Joined: 2008/03/20 05:19:16
Location: Canada

Re: Firefox exiting?

Post by movieman » 2008/03/25 15:06:23

Yeah, I checked the 5.0 PC and Firefox on that one has no plugins installed at all.

movieman
Posts: 180
Joined: 2008/03/20 05:19:16
Location: Canada

Re: Firefox exiting?

Post by movieman » 2008/04/24 16:03:39

BTW, I uninstalled 64-bit Firefox on the 5.0 machine and have been running the 32-bit version, which hasn't exited so far. So it does appear to be some kind of 64-bit-ism.

Either that or I just got lucky, since it is entirely random.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”