cpio not working

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, IA-64, and PowerPC)
jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005/11/23 21:30:51
Location: Brisbane, Australia

cpio not working

Post by jimothy » 2008/04/13 08:42:36

Hello,

I have installed CentOS 5.1 x86_64 and have updated to the latest version of all packages and kernel using pup. I have managed to set up several virtual machines using VirtualBox and am trying to install Oracle 10g database but have encountered a more basic problem - cpio is not working for any user.

When I call cpio to unpack the oracle file - or any other .cpio files I can find and try - the process starts but immediately reports as 'sleeping' with zero cpu time and % use. Nothing I do as the oracle, root or other users seems to make any difference.

rpm -q cpio = cpio-2.6-20

I used cksum to check the validity of the files downloaded from Oracle and the checksum values match. The files gunzip but will not unpack.

Any ideas. It doesn't seem to be possible to re-install cpio through yum because of the dependencies. Is there another way to 'repair' it, or am I missing something more basic? I've never encountered a problem of this nature using CentOS before.

As a short-term solution, is there any other utility capable of unpacking a .cpio file correctly?

Thanks,

Jimothy

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7386
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: cpio not working

Post by toracat » 2008/04/13 11:54:24

If it is suspected that your installed cpio is no longer working, check it by:

rpm -V cpio

If this returns nothing, then your cpio is intact. Reinstalling would not help. Do more test by getting some .rpm file and running:

rpm2cpio foobar.rpm | cpio -idv

Will this also fail?

jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005/11/23 21:30:51
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: cpio not working

Post by jimothy » 2008/04/13 20:46:47

Hi toracat,

Thanks for the advice. I tried rpm-V cpio and received no output.

I then tried the following:

# rpm2cpio ocfs2-2.6.9-22.ELsmp-1.2.3-1.i686.rpm | cpio -idv
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/configfs
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/configfs/configfs.ko
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/debugfs
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/debugfs/debugfs.ko
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/ocfs2
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/ocfs2/ocfs2.ko
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/ocfs2/ocfs2_dlm.ko
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/ocfs2/ocfs2_dlmfs.ko
./lib/modules/2.6.9-22.ELsmp/kernel/fs/ocfs2/ocfs2_nodemanager.ko
16156 blocks
#

I'm not sure what that means - has it behaved as it should?

Thanks,

Jim

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7386
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: cpio not working

Post by toracat » 2008/04/13 21:09:06

[quote]
jimothy wrote:

I'm not sure what that means - has it behaved as it should?
[/quote]
Yes, the cpio command is working just fine. To make sure, I got the same rpm file and my output was identical to yours. I suspect the problem is associated with your cpio file or the way it was used?

jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005/11/23 21:30:51
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: cpio not working

Post by jimothy » 2008/04/13 21:22:48

I have three different cpio files, downloaded at different times, although all are Oracle compressed archives. One of them unpacked successfully on my old 32-bit installation of CentOS 4 but will not unpack now on my 64-bit installation of CentOS 5.1.

Do you know of any smaller cpio files I could try downloading from a source other than Oracle in order to do a check to ensure it's not Oracle-specific?

Thanks

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7386
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

Re: cpio not working

Post by toracat » 2008/04/14 00:25:08

I don't have / know of any cpio files, but what options did you use to unpack the oracle .cpio file?

cpio -idmv < foobar.cpio

this command is supposed to work, I believe.

jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005/11/23 21:30:51
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: cpio not working

Post by jimothy » 2008/04/14 05:56:17

Yes, -idmv is what Oracle and other parties suggest, so this is what I was using.

Thanks for your help, toracat. If you have any other thoughts, please let me know.

Jim

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9323
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: cpio not working

Post by AlanBartlett » 2008/04/14 10:59:26

[b]Jim[/b],

You might like to try each of the following in turn with the Oracle archives:

(1) [b]cpio -idmvc /var/tmp/phoobar.cpio[/b]

Then confirm you can (a) read the archive (b) extract the files from the archive. For example:

[b]cd /tmp[/b]

(a) [b]cpio -itvcB < /var/tmp/phoobar.cpio[/b]

If the above is o.k., then:

(b) [b]cpio -idmcB < /var/tmp/phoobar.cpio[/b]

HTH.
Alan.

jimothy
Posts: 6
Joined: 2005/11/23 21:30:51
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: cpio not working

Post by jimothy » 2008/04/14 19:29:27

Gents,

I'm so sorry for wasting your time. Although I'm apparently not the only person to have made this mistake, I am still an idiot! I was missing the < from the syntax and couldn't see it very well on the Oracle site. I can't believe it, I've installed Oracle many times and never had a problem. toracat even stated it in his last response and I missed it.

http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=2422392&#2422392

"You forgot the <

cpio -idmv < 10201_database_linux_x86_64.cpio"

http://www.oracle.com/technology/software/products/database/oracle10g/htdocs/10201linx8664soft.html

All I can say is sorry. Hopefully, the next time I need your help it will be a bit more worthwhile.

Jim :-(

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9323
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: cpio not working

Post by AlanBartlett » 2008/04/15 11:41:10

[b]Jim[/b],

Don't worry about it. Anybody can make a mistake. And now I can see why [b]cpio[/b] was hanging!

Alan.
:-)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”