Flash plugin in Firefox 3, CentOS 5.2

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, IA-64, and PowerPC)
Post Reply
gritsul
Posts: 13
Joined: 2008/05/10 11:47:02
Contact:

Flash plugin in Firefox 3, CentOS 5.2

Post by gritsul » 2008/06/27 07:09:23

After upgrade to CentIOS 5.2 I have lost flash plugin there, that was manually configured to work with firefox 1.5.

In both cases I use 32-bit firefox.

Does somebody have any instructions for installation of this plugin to work under x64 ?

When I am redirected to Adobe site [url=http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&P2_Platform=Linux&P3_Browser_Version=Netscape4]http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&P2_Platform=Linux&P3_Browser_Version=Netscape4[/url]
saved rpm for
Adobe Flash Player
Linux, x86

# rpm -i flash-plugin-9.0.124.0-release.i386.rpm
package flash-plugin-9.0.124.0-release is already installed

However, when i am on the flash enabled page, I am still redirected to flsh install page

scottro
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2431
Joined: 2007/09/03 21:18:09
Location: NYC
Contact:

Flash plugin in Firefox 3, CentOS 5.2

Post by scottro » 2008/06/27 12:42:43

You might try uninstalling and reinstalling flash.

There's a pretty good guide to flash in Fedora (which also works for CentOS)


http://www.fedorafaq.org/#flash

Actually, with help of a later part of that guide, I now have it all working in 64 bit. (If you have a 64 bit system and want to run 64 bit firefox.)

gritsul
Posts: 13
Joined: 2008/05/10 11:47:02
Contact:

Re: Flash plugin in Firefox 3, CentOS 5.2

Post by gritsul » 2008/06/27 16:15:24

Unfortunately reinstalling not works.

Tried previously x64 firefox but haven't been satisfied with results.

That way moved onto firefox-32 bit on CentOS 5.1.

Does anybody know, if Google analytics works well with x64 ff3 on centOS5?

movieman
Posts: 180
Joined: 2008/03/20 05:19:16
Location: Canada

Re: Flash plugin in Firefox 3, CentOS 5.2

Post by movieman » 2008/06/30 17:48:06

I suspect it's a problem with the flash installer putting the file in the wrong place; I manually copied the plugin from the 1.5 Firefox directory to the 3.0 Firefox directory and it all worked (running 32-bit Firefox on x64).

What I do find odd is that on my Red Hat machine I was able to upgrade Firefox to 3.0 without upgrading to 5.2, but I can't do the same on my CentOS 5.1 machine; it complains about dependencies that it can't resolve.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”