VMware Tools hangUp on install

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, IA-64, and PowerPC)
Post Reply
Wassif
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010/01/17 15:03:24

VMware Tools hangUp on install

Post by Wassif » 2010/01/17 16:03:48

Hello,

HARDWARE
MacBook PRO, dual2core 2.66 GHZ CPU, 4 Gb RAM
SOFTWARE
Mac OS 10.6.2, VMware Fusion 3.01, CentOS-5.4-x86_64-LiveCD.iso
LANGUAGE
French

SITUATION
On the VMware environnement, when I install the VMware tools, it stalls for a life time and when I want to move the mouse from one OS to another I always have to "release" the mouse (press ctrl+cmd) but when I did so with XP SP2 and Server 2003, it did install correctly and I could move the mouse from one OS to another.

QUESTIONS
Where did I go wrong? Is there something I should do?

Thanks for any help

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

VMware Tools hangUp on install

Post by pschaff » 2010/01/17 16:14:35

Not really a CentOS question, although somebody here may know, I don't. Have used VirtualBox on the Mac and the magic key combination always seem to act weirdly to me, but pointer integration does work. No experience with VMware Fusion. I'd check at:

http://www.vmwareforum.org/
http://communities.vmware.com/

Wassif
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010/01/17 15:03:24

Re: VMware Tools hangUp on install

Post by Wassif » 2010/01/18 03:51:40

Thank you for that guideline.
I'm going to post my question on those forum.
I'm sorry if I took your time, I tought it was a CENTOS question because the same process was corect with the other OSes.
But if you think it isn't related, you must have had a good intuition.
If I have the answer, I'll post of here.

Once again thank you for you time.

Wassif

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: VMware Tools hangUp on install

Post by pschaff » 2010/01/18 14:23:39

Good luck, and check back here - someone else may yet chime in on this thread. In any case, please update for the sake of future forum searchers.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 5 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”