powernow-k8 bios error - Proliant DL145

Issues related to hardware problems
Post Reply
valkarye
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005/03/22 20:02:08
Location: Texas

powernow-k8 bios error - Proliant DL145

Post by valkarye » 2005/03/22 20:16:47

I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I just installed Centos4 x86_64 and am getting the error:
"powernow-k8 bios error no psb"
when the kernel begins to load. Everything works fine (aside from the fact that the clock is blown back to Jan1, 2001 0:00) after this error, but any date/time info either set in the BIOS or through the OS on each reboot.

I searched the release notes and didn't see anything related to this error, and looking on the web only related back to older 2.6 i386 kernels.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Eric

bodgit
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005/03/20 15:16:26
Location: UK
Contact:

powernow-k8 bios error - Proliant DL145

Post by bodgit » 2005/03/24 01:26:47

[quote]
valkarye wrote:
I'm not sure if this is the right forum, but I just installed Centos4 x86_64 and am getting the error:
"powernow-k8 bios error no psb"
when the kernel begins to load.
[/quote]

I got the same when I booted the installer kernel. After installing, the SMP kernel boots and displays "powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS structure" instead, so AFAIK it's harmless.

[quote]
Everything works fine (aside from the fact that the clock is blown back to Jan1, 2001 0:00) after this error, but any date/time info either set in the BIOS or through the OS on each reboot.
[/quote]

Are you sure the two are related? I don't see this problem here, although I'm having trouble parsing that last bit ;-)

valkarye
Posts: 2
Joined: 2005/03/22 20:02:08
Location: Texas

Re: powernow-k8 bios error - Proliant DL145

Post by valkarye » 2005/03/27 05:53:58

Sorry, looks like I got off track - actually the error occurs on each boot, but for a majority of reboots, all date/time info. that has been entered either through the BIOS or from within Linux gets erased.

I opened up a case with HP for this issue and suprisingly they say I'm the first to bring it to their attention. It seems to stem from the fact that their BIOS for the DL145 doesn't support Cool and Quiet.

Bodgit,
what motherboard/chipset are you using?

Eric

bodgit
Posts: 5
Joined: 2005/03/20 15:16:26
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: powernow-k8 bios error - Proliant DL145

Post by bodgit » 2005/03/29 22:41:24

[quote]
Bodgit,
what motherboard/chipset are you using?
[/quote]

It's the Gigabyte GA-7A8DW motherboard which has the AMD 8131, 8111 and 8151 chipsets.

HTH

Matt

Post Reply