Primary Domain Controller

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
deadmonty
Posts: 1
Joined: 2005/03/05 00:14:30

Primary Domain Controller

Post by deadmonty » 2005/03/08 12:34:31

Can I use CentOS 4 to replace my NT4 box as a PDC?

In a similar vein, can it be used as a BDC to an NT4 PDC?

Paul

Thallez
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005/03/05 14:08:28

Re: Primary Domain Controller

Post by Thallez » 2005/03/08 21:07:18

Yes you can!!

Here is the Howto [url=http://us1.samba.org/samba/docs/man/Samba-HOWTO-Collection/]---->[/url]

pmjdebruijn
Posts: 9
Joined: 2005/01/05 15:38:29
Contact:

Re: Primary Domain Controller

Post by pmjdebruijn » 2005/03/09 11:45:09

Hi,

I might want to try to search this forum using 'samba' as topic:

Anyway, take a look at this:
http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=97&forum=8&post_id=1001#forumpost1001

I wrote the mentioned tutorial, it's reasonably good (still a work in progress though), but it's PDC only, BDC's are a bit more difficult as it's involves using LDAP (i think)...

Regards,
Pascal de Bruijn

arrfab
Site Admin
Posts: 870
Joined: 2005/01/03 21:30:54
Location: /country/belgium
Contact:

Primary Domain Controller

Post by arrfab » 2005/03/11 13:24:28

[quote]
deadmonty wrote:
Can I use CentOS 4 to replace my NT4 box as a PDC?

In a similar vein, can it be used as a BDC to an NT4 PDC?

Paul[/quote]

Yes you can replace your NT4 PDC with a CentOS 4 (even with CentOS 3) .... BUT NO, you can't install Samba 3(because in fact CentOS is just the OS, but Samba will do the job) as a BDC !
If you have a look on the Samba-Howto, you'll see that Samba 3 can act as a PDC, but is not able (until now ...) to accept the replication process from a NT 4 PDC (in case of Samba 3 BDC) ....
Don't forget that you can have a Samba 3 PDC, but no NT4 BDC ...
So, to be clear :

Samba 3 PDC + Samba 3 BDC = yes (replication through OpenLDAP)
Samba 3 PDC + NT 4 BDC = NO ( no automatic replication process ...)
Samba 3 BDC + NT 4 PDC = NO (no automatic replication process ...)

I've migrated several NT 4 domains to Samba3 based domains without problems ... No NT Servers anymore ... :-D

Hope this helps ... and don't forget the official Samba website : http://www.samba.org

Romario
Posts: 3
Joined: 2005/03/14 09:12:47
Location: Frankfurt/GER

Re: Primary Domain Controller

Post by Romario » 2005/03/14 09:16:25

There is a Bug in the shadow utils of EL4.
Don't know if this is in Centos4, too...

[url=https://bugzilla.redhat.com/beta/show_bug.cgi?id=150770]Bugzilla Link[/url]

Easiest way to fix is either to use FC3 rpm, either recompile or use the binary.

Rainer

arrfab
Site Admin
Posts: 870
Joined: 2005/01/03 21:30:54
Location: /country/belgium
Contact:

Re: Primary Domain Controller

Post by arrfab » 2005/03/14 10:35:58

[quote]
Romario wrote:
There is a Bug in the shadow utils of EL4.
Don't know if this is in Centos4, too...

[url=https://bugzilla.redhat.com/beta/show_bug.cgi?id=150770]Bugzilla Link[/url]

Easiest way to fix is either to use FC3 rpm, either recompile or use the binary.

Rainer[/quote]

You only need this fix if you use the standard tdbsam backend ...
If you use OpenLDAP as backend (recommend setting), you don't need this fix (because you don't use useradd to add machine account)...

robertomason
Posts: 12
Joined: 2005/03/31 04:39:21

Using Webmin

Post by robertomason » 2005/04/07 16:50:22

I'm home user, so this isn't a critical problem, but it's perplexing me. I've been playing around with SAMBA now for about 2 years. I had a PDC runing at home running On Fedora Core 4 and samba 3.0.13. I've been managing my PDC with a combination of Webmin 1.090 and SAMBA-SWAT.

I create my users (only 2 users) and my groups through webmin. Webmin synchronises both my users and groups with Samba

I decided to change to CentOS 4. Since I installed centOS with SAMBA 3.0.10 (hope I have the right version), I get an error when trying to create a group. Here's the error:

Failed to save group : The group was successfully saved, but an error
occured in another module : samba::useradmin_create_group failed :
/usr/bin/net failed :
[2005/04/05 15:14:28, 0] passdb/pdb_tdb.c:tdbsam_tdbopen(194)
Unable to open/create TDB passwd
[2005/04/05 15:14:28, 0] utils/net.c:get_maxrid(606)
load_sampwd_entries: Unable to open passdb.
[2005/04/05 15:14:28, 0] utils/net.c:net_maxrid(666)
can't get current maximum rid

at ../web-lib-funcs.pl line 715.

the tdb file is there, and permissions are ok, so that doesn't look like the problem. Before trying to rebuild an rpm (which will be my first time :-D ) I'd like to know if it is a samba problem, that is if people have had the same problem.

Thanks: :-)

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Networking Support”