Port blocking?

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
dougwo
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008/04/12 05:29:10
Contact:

Port blocking?

Post by dougwo » 2008/04/12 05:37:11

I just installed my 4th server. The other three have the second NIC, eth1, configured for an internal subnet, 192.168.60.n. I add this new computer and when I try to ping the others, I can't see them and likewise, they can't see me. When I re-configure this new computer to be part of another subnet on the same switch, it works fine (10.10.0.n). So I know it isn't the NIC or the cable or the switch. I swapped cables from the two NICs and this second nic worked to see the outside web as well (eth0).

My question is, is there something that can be blocking the use of the 192.168.60.n domain block within the OS? I know it is not switch ports because I plugged it into ports that the other machines were on and still no work. Something is blocking that IP range. I have iptables turned off. Is there something like iptables that blocks ip ranges? (This is a brand-new install so deny.hosts is empty as well...)

Thanks for any suggestions on what to try next...

kentyler
Posts: 161
Joined: 2007/06/20 13:31:05
Location: Northeast Ohio
Contact:

Port blocking?

Post by kentyler » 2008/04/15 19:37:34

This sounds like an issue with the configuration. Are there any errors when you bring up the interface? What does route -n and ifconfig show when it's on the non working network?

dougwo
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008/04/12 05:29:10
Contact:

Re: Port blocking?

Post by dougwo » 2008/11/11 06:44:08

route -n

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
66.161.32.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.128 U 0 0 0 eth0
192.168.60.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
0.0.0.0 66.161.32.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:36:B1:50:A7
inet addr:66.161.32.64 Bcast:66.161.32.127 Mask:255.255.255.128
inet6 addr: fe80::216:36ff:feb1:50a7/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:54096554 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:46337923 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4047864401 (3.7 GiB) TX bytes:1945404120 (1.8 GiB)
Interrupt:169

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:16:36:B1:50:A6
inet addr:192.168.60.4 Bcast:192.168.60.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1133 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:76252 (74.4 KiB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:177

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:5590 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5590 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1109179 (1.0 MiB) TX bytes:1109179 (1.0 MiB)

Note there is no inet6 addr line in eht1.

Also, netstat -an does not show the 192.168.60.4 address

Post Reply