Set-Up LAN in CentOS 4.6?

Issues related to configuring your network
Kellemora

Post by Kellemora » 2008/09/08 20:40:51

Hi Group - This is my first post!

But it does not come lightly, I have read and reread every single article I could find on setting up a LAN in CentOS from every source possible and have still failed to succeed.

I am fairly new to Linux as far as getting into the ROOT but have used it for some time from the GUI.

Here is my current set-up:
An older HP (yeah I know, but I got it free) Pavilion 753n, 2.53gig Pentium4, 512mb.
Grub bootloader to start CentOS4.6, Debian & Ubuntu, all current to latest releases.
I had to install and reinstall the OS's several times to get the correct order, it seems CentOS reeks havoc on the bootloader. Therefore, I have allowed Ubuntu to hold the bootloader where it works perfectly.

Out of the Box, both Debian and Ubunto find my Network (Cable) AND my LAN and it functions perfectly in Ubuntu, needed a little tweaking in Debian.

But after 3 whole weeks at roughly 10 to 20 hours per day researching and trying things in CentOS, I have YET to get the LAN up and running. The Network (cable) works fine.

I'm using a Realtech RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ Ethernet card.

Don't know the correlation here since each OS is on it's own Partition, but every change made in CentOS seems to crash the video in Debian until reset.

I could list 20 pages of things I have tried that didn't work, but that would be a waste of time and energy I'm sure!

I've whittled my network down to only 3 other computers (all Win XP boxes) until I can get this thing up and running.

As I've already stated, I KNOW it's NOT the hardware since both Ubuntu and Debian (Knoppix too for that matter) not only see the LAN but allow me to access all of the shared files on all of our computers. CentOS cannot even SEE the LAN, except for the Network to the outside world via Cable to the Internet.