cifs timeout on mount

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
IanWorthington
Posts: 18
Joined: 2006/02/23 12:05:10

cifs timeout on mount

Post by IanWorthington » 2010/04/30 11:47:59

I'm trying to establish a connection between my s390 system and a remote windows system but am getting:

# mount -a
mount error 110 = Connection timed out


I've added to my fstab the entry:

//xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/put06-pw /ztpf/windows-nfs/put06-pw/ cifs rw,username=xxx,password=xxx,uid=root,gid=root 0 0

And in the router in front of the Windows machine I've forwarded ports 137-9, and 445 to the Windows machine in question

Is there any way of tracing what's going on?

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: cifs timeout on mount

Post by pschaff » 2010/04/30 12:05:49

Can you access the Windows system with smbclient?

IanWorthington
Posts: 18
Joined: 2006/02/23 12:05:10

Re: cifs timeout on mount

Post by IanWorthington » 2010/04/30 12:30:28

No, neither list nor share:

# smbclient -L xx.xx.xx.xx
timeout connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx:445
timeout connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx:139
Error connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx (Operation already in progress)
Connection to xx.xx.xx.xx failed (Error NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED)


# smbclient \\\\xx.xx.xx.xx\\put05 -U userid
timeout connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx:445
timeout connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx:139
Error connecting to xx.xx.xx.xx (Operation already in progress)
Connection to xx.xx.xx.xx failed (Error NT_STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED)

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: cifs timeout on mount

Post by pschaff » 2010/04/30 12:40:15

Looks like the connection succeeds but authentication fails.

IanWorthington
Posts: 18
Joined: 2006/02/23 12:05:10

Re: cifs timeout on mount

Post by IanWorthington » 2010/04/30 12:50:47

When I try that smbclient -L from a machine on the same LAN as the Windows machine, even using the external address, it works.

Does that suggest there's a config problem with my s390 machine? I can ping the target machine ok and rsync in works, so the basics are there. How can I check that the request is making it out?

i

Post Reply