Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem to access the outside world

Issues related to configuring your network
Post Reply
ws5_chrisl
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010/07/08 20:50:55
Contact:

Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem to access the outside world

Post by ws5_chrisl » 2010/07/08 21:35:26

I'm having a strange issue with DNS resolution and lack of access to the outside world. I just installed CentOS 4.8 and haven't done anything with it yet aside from setting up a user and enabling SSH. I can log into the server via SSH on the local network, ping any server/machine on the local network and resolve domains. What I can't seem to do is access servers outside the local network.

The situation seems to be same if I define a static IP vs using DHCP.

[code]
$ nslookup google.com
Server: 10.254.2.5
Address: 10.254.2.5#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.147
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.99
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.103
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.104
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.105
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.106
[/code]
Where 10.254.2.5 is a Windows 2003 server acting as an Active Directory/DNS/DHCP server.

[code]
$ ping google.com
PING google.com (74.125.47.106) 56(84) bytes of data.
[/code]
It just hangs here.

[code]
$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search <companyname>.local
nameserver 10.254.2.5
nameserver 10.254.2.124
[/code]
Where company name is actually our company name. I don't have angle brackets in the conf file.

I've tried completely disabling the firewall, and configuring the firewall to allow HTTP traffic, but that didn't seem to have any effect.

gerald_clark
Posts: 10642
Joined: 2005/08/05 15:19:54
Location: Northern Illinois, USA

Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem t

Post by gerald_clark » 2010/07/09 17:11:39

Your gateway might not be defined.
Show the output of

ifconfig
route -n
#
reportlines
picktick
shiplock

ws5_chrisl
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010/07/08 20:50:55
Contact:

Re: Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem to access the outside world

Post by ws5_chrisl » 2010/07/09 22:24:20

[quote]
gerald_clark wrote:
Your gateway might not be defined.
Show the output of

ifconfig
route -n
#
reportlines
picktick
shiplock[/quote]

I'm not sure what reportlines, picktick and shiplock mean, and a google search didn't turn anything up, but here are the results of ifconfig and route -n.

[code]
# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <snip>
inet addr:10.254.2.101 Bcast:10.254.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: <snip>/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:80066 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4421 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7810133 (7.4 MiB) TX bytes:590550 (576.7 KiB)
Interrupt:225 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8104 (7.9 KiB) TX bytes:8104 (7.9 KiB)
[/code]
[code]
# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.254.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 10.254.2.5 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
[/code]

Here's a snapshot of my network settings via the system-config-network GUI.
[img]http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/2919/systemconfignetwork.gif[/img]

Post Reply