Page 1 of 1

Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem to access the outside world

Posted: 2010/07/08 21:35:26
by ws5_chrisl
I'm having a strange issue with DNS resolution and lack of access to the outside world. I just installed CentOS 4.8 and haven't done anything with it yet aside from setting up a user and enabling SSH. I can log into the server via SSH on the local network, ping any server/machine on the local network and resolve domains. What I can't seem to do is access servers outside the local network.

The situation seems to be same if I define a static IP vs using DHCP.

[code]
$ nslookup google.com
Server: 10.254.2.5
Address: 10.254.2.5#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.147
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.99
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.103
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.104
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.105
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.47.106
[/code]
Where 10.254.2.5 is a Windows 2003 server acting as an Active Directory/DNS/DHCP server.

[code]
$ ping google.com
PING google.com (74.125.47.106) 56(84) bytes of data.
[/code]
It just hangs here.

[code]
$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search <companyname>.local
nameserver 10.254.2.5
nameserver 10.254.2.124
[/code]
Where company name is actually our company name. I don't have angle brackets in the conf file.

I've tried completely disabling the firewall, and configuring the firewall to allow HTTP traffic, but that didn't seem to have any effect.

Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem t

Posted: 2010/07/09 17:11:39
by gerald_clark
Your gateway might not be defined.
Show the output of

ifconfig
route -n
#
reportlines
picktick
shiplock

Re: Domains resolve to IP addresses, but the server can't seem to access the outside world

Posted: 2010/07/09 22:24:20
by ws5_chrisl
[quote]
gerald_clark wrote:
Your gateway might not be defined.
Show the output of

ifconfig
route -n
#
reportlines
picktick
shiplock[/quote]

I'm not sure what reportlines, picktick and shiplock mean, and a google search didn't turn anything up, but here are the results of ifconfig and route -n.

[code]
# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr <snip>
inet addr:10.254.2.101 Bcast:10.254.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: <snip>/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:80066 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4421 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7810133 (7.4 MiB) TX bytes:590550 (576.7 KiB)
Interrupt:225 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:32 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8104 (7.9 KiB) TX bytes:8104 (7.9 KiB)
[/code]
[code]
# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
10.254.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
0.0.0.0 10.254.2.5 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
[/code]

Here's a snapshot of my network settings via the system-config-network GUI.
[img]http://img713.imageshack.us/img713/2919/systemconfignetwork.gif[/img]