[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Issues related to configuring your network
captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2010/12/28 08:31:23

Hi everyone,

I don't use CentOS regularly (Ubuntu and Mint, yes) so I'm not sure if this is something that is particular to CentOS (release 4) or not. I have this workstation that controls a microscope controller. The drives in this computer are some POS Seagate drives where the data storage drive has already conked out more than once. I think this time there was a problem with the OS drive that caused a lot of filesystem errors. I wasn't able to boot the OS at first. I ran fsck from a liveCD and was able to fix the (hundreds of) errors and the OS can now boot from the drive. The problem I have now is the ethernet does not work. I know there's not a problem with the ethernet controllers because I can access the internet through the liveCD. When I try to activate eth0, or eth1, I get the following error:

[quote]Cannot activate network device eth0!
network-functions: line 180: ip: command not found
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 1: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 2: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 3: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 4: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 5: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 6: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 7: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 8: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 9: ignoring bad line starting with 'EXFILTER'
network-functions: line 194: ip: command not found
/sbin/ifup: line 162: ip: command not found
Device eth1 has different MAC address than expected, ignoring.[/quote]

I'm not sure where to start to resolve this. I have to be very careful not to "break" the OS. I can't risk upgrading it because the software that controls the microscope is not tested to run on [i]anything[/i] but CentOS and for now, release 4. And I certainly can't just reinstall the OS. Having the company reinstall the OS and software would take 4 weeks and >$1000.

Any ideas?

captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2010/12/29 02:01:56

oh, and if it's helpful, here's the output of the getinfo script (I deleted some seemingly extraneous info):

Information for general problems.
[code]
== BEGIN uname -rmi ==
2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp x86_64 x86_64
== END uname -rmi ==

== BEGIN rpm -q centos-release ==
centos-release-4-8
== END rpm -q centos-release ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/redhat-release ==
CentOS release 4.8 (Final)
== END cat /etc/redhat-release ==

== BEGIN getenforce ==
Enforcing
== END getenforce ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/fstab ==
# This file is edited by fstab-sync - see 'man fstab-sync' for details
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot1 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
#LABEL=/data1 /data1 ext3 defaults 1 2
#/dev/sdb2 /data1 ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
#LABEL=SWAP-sdb1 swap swap defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sdd1 /media/New_Volume ntfs-3g rw,umask=0000,defaults 0 0
/dev/hda /media/cdrecorder auto pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy auto pamconsole,fscontext=system_u:object_r:removable_t,exec,noauto,managed 0 0
== END cat /etc/fstab ==

== BEGIN df -h ==
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3 72G 13G 55G 19% /
/dev/sda1 99M 21M 74M 22% /boot
none 1004M 0 1004M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/sdc1 2.0G 314M 1.7G 16% /mnt/usbflash
== END df -h ==

== BEGIN fdisk -l ==

Disk /dev/sda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 13 104391 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 14 274 2096482+ 82 Linux swap
/dev/sda3 275 9729 75947287+ 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdc: 2138 MB, 2138046464 bytes
64 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1035 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 4032 * 512 = 2064384 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdc1 * 1 1036 2087536+ b W95 FAT32
== END fdisk -l ==

== BEGIN blkid ==
/dev/sda1: LABEL="/boot1" UUID="336ebd68-4441-4ad3-ba42-aa37e3b7ca8d" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sda2: TYPE="swap" LABEL="SWAP-sda2" UUID="b7d21875-0b18-4782-b8e1-de63198bbc24"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="/" UUID="64d2ebc6-d138-40da-98e6-ed009253d912" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sdb1: TYPE="swap" LABEL="SWAP-sdb1" UUID="ce8c8920-ec4d-4dab-9c9e-7ccd53ef9b6e"
/dev/sdb2: LABEL="/data1" UUID="5100dc49-d7dd-4e05-99a8-02f10fa71733" SEC_TYPE="ext3" TYPE="ext2"
/dev/sdc1: UUID="8299-5BF6" TYPE="vfat"
== END blkid ==

== BEGIN rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==
kernel-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-89.0.11.EL
kernel-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-largesmp-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-module-ntfs-2.6.9-78.0.17.ELsmp-2.1.20-0.rr.10.0
kernel-smp-2.6.9-55.EL
kernel-smp-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-smp-devel-2.6.9-89.0.9.EL
kernel-utils-2.4-18.el4
== END rpm -qa kernel\* | sort ==

== BEGIN lspci ==
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SMBus (rev a3)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:04.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 IDE (rev a1)
00:05.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:05.2 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP55 SATA Controller (rev a3)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI bridge (rev a2)
00:06.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP55 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:08.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP55 PCI Express bridge (rev a3)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306 Fire II IEEE 1394 OHCI Link Layer Controller (rev c0)
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Quadro FX 570 (rev a1)
== END lspci ==

== BEGIN lspci -n ==
00:00.0 Class 0500: 10de:0369 (rev a2)
00:01.0 Class 0601: 10de:0360 (rev a3)
00:01.1 Class 0c05: 10de:0368 (rev a3)
00:02.0 Class 0c03: 10de:036c (rev a1)
00:02.1 Class 0c03: 10de:036d (rev a2)
00:04.0 Class 0101: 10de:036e (rev a1)
00:05.0 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:05.1 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:05.2 Class 0101: 10de:037f (rev a3)
00:06.0 Class 0604: 10de:0370 (rev a2)
00:06.1 Class 0403: 10de:0371 (rev a2)
00:08.0 Class 0200: 10de:0373 (rev a3)
00:0a.0 Class 0604: 10de:0376 (rev a3)
00:0b.0 Class 0604: 10de:0374 (rev a3)
00:0c.0 Class 0604: 10de:0374 (rev a3)
00:0d.0 Class 0604: 10de:0378 (rev a3)
00:0e.0 Class 0604: 10de:0375 (rev a3)
00:0f.0 Class 0604: 10de:0377 (rev a3)
00:18.0 Class 0600: 1022:1100
00:18.1 Class 0600: 1022:1101
00:18.2 Class 0600: 1022:1102
00:18.3 Class 0600: 1022:1103
01:06.0 Class 0c00: 1106:3044 (rev c0)
07:00.0 Class 0300: 10de:040e (rev a1)
== END lspci -n ==

== BEGIN ifconfig -a ==
ifconfig: /lib64/tls/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.4' not found (required by ifconfig)
== END ifconfig -a ==

== BEGIN route -n ==
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
== END route -n ==

== BEGIN cat /etc/resolv.conf ==
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
search lbl.gov
nameserver 131.xxx.xx.x
nameserver 128.x.xx.xxx
nameserver 131.xxx.xx.x
== END cat /etc/resolv.conf ==

== BEGIN grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==
#networks: ldap [NOTFOUND=return] files
netmasks: files
networks: files
netgroup: files
== END grep net /etc/nsswitch.conf ==

== BEGIN chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==
wpa_supplicant 0:off 1:off 2:off 3:off 4:off 5:off 6:off
NetworkManager 0:off 1:off 2:off 3:off 4:off 5:off 6:off
network 0:off 1:off 2:on 3:on 4:on 5:on 6:off
== END chkconfig --list | grep -Ei 'network|wpa' ==

[/code]

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9319
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by AlanBartlett » 2010/12/29 11:19:23

Welcome to the [i]CentOS[/i] fora.

You are one of the few who do the recommended reading before posting a query. Congratulations. :-)

With regard to your problem with the NIC, as I don't have access to a EL4 system, I have a couple of questions to ask:

(1) Has the network access ever worked? Or is this the first time it has been tried?
(2) By looking at the information you have provided, we can see that the NIC is described as "00:08.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP55 Ethernet (rev a3)" with a [i]Vendor:Device ID paring[/i] of "10de:0373". Please check to see if there is a kernel driver module for that NIC by performing the following "double-grep" --

[code]
[b]grep -i 10de /lib/modules/*/modules.alias | grep 0373[/b]
[/code]
What is the returned output?

Further, I am concerned to see (in post #1) --

[quote]
network-functions: line 180: ip: command not found
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 1: ignoring bad line starting with 'GROUP'
[i][/i]
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.symbols line 9: ignoring bad line starting with 'EXFILTER'
network-functions: line 194: ip: command not found
/sbin/ifup: line 162: ip: command not found
[/quote]
and (in post #2) --

[quote]
== BEGIN ifconfig -a ==
ifconfig: /lib64/tls/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.4' not found (required by ifconfig)
== END ifconfig -a ==
[/quote]
Both of those are abnormal. What, exactly, is the history of the system?

[quote]
I can't risk upgrading it because the software that controls the microscope is not tested to run on anything but CentOS and for now, release 4. And I certainly can't just reinstall the OS. Having the company reinstall the OS and software would take 4 weeks and >$1000.
[/quote]
Who are [b]the company[/b]? Have they customised / modified the [i]CentOS 4[/i] installation in any way?

captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2010/12/30 01:58:07

Thanks for the reply Alan,

To answer your questions:

1) yes, the network is accessed frequently from this machine - it's how we transfer the data to our server. Also, I didn't make this clear (though it's not likely to be important) one ethernet port (eth1) connects to the microscope controller, the other (eth0) accesses the network.

2) Here's the output of the grep commands:

[code]
/lib/modules/2.6.9-55.EL/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-55.ELsmp/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.EL/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
/lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/modules.alias:alias pci:v000010DEd00000373sv*sd*bc*sc*i* forcedeth
[/code]

3) As for the history of the machine: it's 2 years old, it's a custom build, and it's only used to acquire images from our microscope. The problem with this machine I believe begins and ends with the hard drives which is best summarized here http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/1050374/seagate-barracuda-7200-drives-failing
Though, this problem only happened with the data drive, not the OS drive. I couldn't find any reports of the bricking or other problems with the particular drive the OS is on (7200.10 80GB) so I didn't think about cloning it onto another drive. So I fixed the 500GB data drive (which Seagate refused to admit had any problem), and for the last six months or so I've had no problems with that drive or the other. Then one day one user told me she was processing some images on the data drive when it simply disappeared. I restarted the computer to see if it was even detected (it was) so I let it reboot, but it wouldn't. So I restarted with a liveCD to see if I could access them that way. I could access the OS drive but not the data drive. I ran fsck on the OS drive and found tons of errors which were successfully repaired. I can now boot to the desktop and run applications and such but I can't access the internet, which means I can't use the microscope. I have no idea how the filesystem problems occurred so I can only blame the hard drive itself.

4) The company is Applied Precision. As far as I can tell there is no customization of the OS itself (though there could be). It looks like a full install of CentOS 4, except for their software that captures images and accesses the microscope controller (a second, specialized computer running XP that connects directly to the microscope). The company used to use RedHat but now it's only CentOS.

Should I consider running the repair-install feature on the CentOS DVD?

Thanks again for your help :-)

User avatar
AlanBartlett
Forum Moderator
Posts: 9319
Joined: 2007/10/22 11:30:09
Location: ~/Earth/UK/England/Suffolk
Contact:

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by AlanBartlett » 2010/12/31 00:29:07

Thank you for the information and system history.

I think what has happened is fairly clear. You have experienced a problem with the OS drive, which resulted in a corrupt file system. That was fixed (as best as possible) by the multiple [i]fsck[/i] runs but has left certain files in a corrupt state. If your connection to the Internet still was operational, I would have advised parsing the rpm package list (stored with the log files in the [b]/var/log/[/b] directory) and then [i]yum reinstalling[/i] the packages. But with no working connection to the Internet . . .

So what I would recommend you do is to try to check the extent of file / package corruption by using the [i]verify[/i] option of the [i]rpm[/i] command. Firstly, have a refresher read of the [i]rpm[/i] manual page --

[code]
[b]man rpm[/b]
[/code]
and search for the description of the [i]verify[/i] option. Now verify each package installed on the system --

[code]
[b]rpm -qa --verify | less[/b]
[/code]
If every package is perfect and no configuration files have been edited (which will not be the case ;-) ), the above command should return a null output.

Thinking in advance . . . Let's assume you generate a list of corrupt packages, we could replace them with the versions from the installation DVD. However, they may not necessarily be the most recent versions but would be sufficient to get the system back to a state of stability. Then, with a working connection to the Internet, a subsequent [i]yum update[/i] will take care of the out of date packages . . . So the situation is recoverable.

Perhaps [i][b]others[/i][/b] would like to comment?

And yes, if that was my system, I would be planning on replacing the disk drives.

captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2011/01/04 00:45:42

Thanks Alan,

According the output, the ethernet drivers have problems (am I reading this right?)

[quote]SM5....TC /lib/modules/2.6.9-89.0.9.ELsmp/kernel/drivers/net/forcedeth.ko[/quote]

I attached the verify command output. Is there anything I should focus on fixing first to get the ethernet in a working state (other than drivers)? Since this is the first time I've had to (partially) rebuild an RPM database I want to be careful not to erase items in the database that are important for the imaging software to work.

Thanks! (It looks like you've been helpful to two people so far - sweet)

**update: there's a problem with me being able to upload the output file (zip). I can email you the file if it's necessary.

User avatar
toracat
Forum Moderator
Posts: 7284
Joined: 2006/09/03 16:37:24
Location: California, US
Contact:

[SOLVED] "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by toracat » 2011/01/06 21:56:47

I apologize for not responding to this thread sooner. [b]Alan[/b] is under the weather and has been away from the forums for the last few days.

The output you showed indeed indicates that the driver module forcedeth.ko is altered. That will explain the network problem.

If you can access internet from another computer, try downloading the latest kernel:

http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/updates/x86_64/RPMS/kernel-smp-2.6.9-89.33.1.EL.x86_64.rpm
http://mirror.centos.org/centos/4/updates/x86_64/RPMS/kernel-smp-devel-2.6.9-89.33.1.EL.x86_64.rpm

Copy them to a directory and installed them by:

rpm -ivh kernel*

That should update the kernel and you will get the intact forcedeth.ko file. Then reboot to this kernel.

captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2011/01/14 01:22:41

thanks toracat. I followed your instructions and the smp-devel kernel seemed to install fine but the other one did this:

[code]
[worx@pd11500 Desktop]$ sudo rpm -ivh kernel-smp-2.6.9-89.33.1.EL.x86_64.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
1:kernel-smp ########################################### [100%]
cp: cannot stat `/sbin/insmod.static': No such file or directory[/code]

It then went back to the shell prompt and I rebooted it and wouldn't boot but instead encountered a kernel panic.

Other kernels still boot though.

Can I rebuild the rpm database from the rescue mode on the CentOS DVD?

Otherwise, I really don't know what to do next.

Thanks for your help so far.

pschaff
Retired Moderator
Posts: 18276
Joined: 2006/12/13 20:15:34
Location: Tidewater, Virginia, North America
Contact:

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by pschaff » 2011/01/14 01:43:37

kernel-smp-devel is not a kernel, rather it is the kernel development support package. It seems more is corrupted than the kernel module. On CentOS 5[code]
$ rpm -qf /sbin/insmod.static
module-init-tools-3.3-0.pre3.1.60.el5_5.1[/code]
Is module-init-tools installed and does it pass the[code]rpm --verify module-init-tools[/code]test?

captainentropy
Posts: 16
Joined: 2010/12/27 23:22:31

Re: "cannot activate network device eth0"

Post by captainentropy » 2011/01/14 01:57:33

Thanks for the reply :) Here's the results of the query

[code][worx@pd11500 ~]$ rpm -qf /sbin/insmod.static
module-init-tools-3.1-0.pre5.3.11
[worx@pd11500 ~]$ rpm --verify module-init-tools
missing /sbin/insmod.static
missing /sbin/modinfo[/code]

Post Reply