Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, s390(x) and PowerPC)
bliddle
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006/01/27 20:44:06

Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by bliddle » 2006/01/27 22:21:13

Is CentOS4.2x86_64 compatible with AMD Turion 64? I have just installed it on a brand new HP Pavillion dv8000 laptop, and it is running dog slow.
Note, I have fully updated everything using up2date.

[brian@luthor OpusIntegration]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 36
model name : AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-32
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 1790.896
cache size : 512 KB
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni ts
bogomips : 3522.56
TLB size : 1088 4k pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management : ts fid vid ttp [4] [5]

Also, does anyone know how to turn off the stupid adaptec touchpad? It's running havoc with gnome.

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by Lenard » 2006/01/28 18:42:33

No problems on my laptop (Acer Aspire 5002WLMi);

$ cat /proc/cpuinfo ;(idle not working to hard)
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 36
model name : AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-30
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 800.044
cache size : 1024 KB
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni lahf_lm
bogomips : 1601.19
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc

$ cat /proc/cpuinfo ;(running glxgears to get to full speed)
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 36
model name : AMD Turion(tm) 64 Mobile Technology ML-30
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 1600.088
cache size : 1024 KB
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow pni lahf_lm
bogomips : 3202.38
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc

Did build a custom 2.6.15.1 kernel from kernel.org and I'm using acpi not apm (no apm in the kernel or rpm installed);

$ cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0
0: 4159604 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 3657 IO-APIC-edge i8042
8: 0 IO-APIC-edge rtc
11: 3803 IO-APIC-level acpi
12: 880444 IO-APIC-edge i8042
14: 28274 IO-APIC-edge ide0
15: 8672 IO-APIC-edge ide1
16: 1 IO-APIC-level yenta
18: 0 IO-APIC-level SiS SI7013 Modem, SiS SI7012
19: 0 IO-APIC-level ohci_hcd:usb1
20: 0 IO-APIC-level ohci_hcd:usb2
21: 0 IO-APIC-level ehci_hcd:usb3
22: 402992 IO-APIC-level ndiswrapper
NMI: 3670
LOC: 4159043
ERR: 0
MIS: 0

hulyom
Posts: 60
Joined: 2006/05/26 20:40:24
Location: Latitude -2 54'16\"

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by hulyom » 2006/05/27 17:51:08

No problems on my laptop (Acer Aspire 5002WLMi);
... uupppss, I do have a lot of problems with my Aspire 5002WLMi, using Centos 4.3:

very very slow
some times I have to start up 3 times because it dies after the
.........
-Decompressing Linux...done.
-Booting the kernel.
and before
-Red hat nash version x.x.x starting

is it because I am sharing the hard disk with WindowsXP? (Acer sales by default the disk partitioned, I installed in the 3th partition)
or is it because I have only 256MB ram?

...also
-I cant setup the right monitor or resolution (1280 x 800)
-I can't setup the right video card driver
-I can't use the virtual text terminals form [ctl+alt+F1] to [ctl+alt+F6] (may be fixing one of the 2 last problems will be solved)
-two usb are working in version 1, the other one is ok, version 2
-Wireless and Bluetooth don't work
-Modem doesn't work, I don't know whitch driver I have to use
-Battery... well, I don't know to put a messure at screen, does somebody know about an application or how to do it?.

Thanks for your help

following your instructions Lenard:
I typed
$cat /proc/cpuinfo --and this is the difference between your computer and mine
cpu MHz : 800.039
flags : fxsr_opt lahf_lm --(i don't have these two)
TLB size : 1088 4K pages -- you have TLB size : 1024 4K pages
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc --you have
power management: ts fid vid ttp [4] [5] --I have

$cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal 120596 ----- mmm but I have 256DDR

Thanks again

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by Lenard » 2006/05/27 21:49:29

[quote]
hulyom wrote:
No problems on my laptop (Acer Aspire 5002WLMi);
... uupppss, I do have a lot of problems with my Aspire 5002WLMi, using Centos 4.3:

very very slow
some times I have to start up 3 times because it dies after the
.........
-Decompressing Linux...done.
-Booting the kernel.
and before
-Red hat nash version x.x.x starting

is it because I am sharing the hard disk with WindowsXP? (Acer sales by default the disk partitioned, I installed in the 3th partition)
or is it because I have only 256MB ram?
[/quote]

Because you only have 256MB...........My laptop also has the Windows XP and recovery partitions, see;

[code]
$ fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 100.0 GB, 100030242816 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 12161 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 5876 6258 3076447+ 1c Hidden W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2 * 1 5875 47190906 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3 6259 6271 104422+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 6272 12161 47311425 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 6272 8882 20972826 83 Linux
/dev/hda6 8883 10447 12570831 83 Linux
/dev/hda7 10448 10708 2096451 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda8 10709 12161 11671191 83 Linux

[/code]

[quote]
...also
-I cant setup the right monitor or resolution (1280 x 800)
-I can't setup the right video card driver
-I can't use the virtual text terminals form [ctl+alt+F1] to [ctl+alt+F6] (may be fixing one of the 2 last problems will be solved)
[/quote]

Yes this can be a bit tricky.........

[quote]
-two usb are working in version 1, the other one is ok, version 2
[/quote]

Strange, all three work at USB2.0 speed on mine......


[quote]
-Wireless and Bluetooth don't work
[/quote]

Hmmmm........ I'm using the wireless for this reply.........

Visit the ndiswrapper site; http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/

Just follow the instructions on the Installation wiki, you will need the kernel source installed, check around this support site for the details on how to 'prep' the kernel source. Make sure you get the correct drivers for the Broadcom wireless device, you want the 32-bit driver for a 32-bit OS and the 64-bit driver for the 64-bit OS.


[quote]
-Modem doesn't work, I don't know whitch driver I have to use
[/quote]

The latest slmodem from; http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/smartlink/

This one as a matter of fact -- slmodem-2.9.11-20051101.tar.gz

If your running a 64-bit OS then you need to edit the `/slmodem/modem/Makefile and change three lines before you compile the ALSA modem driver;

CFLAGS:= -Wall -g -O -I. -DCONFIG_DEBUG_MODEM

becomes;

CFLAGS:= -m32 -Wall -g -O -I. -DCONFIG_DEBUG_MODEM

----next line----

slmodemd: modem_main.o modem_cmdline.o $(modem-objs) $(dp-objs) dsplibs.o $(sysdep-objs)

becomes;

slmodemd: modem_main.o modem_cmdline.o $(modem-objs) $(dp-objs) dsplibs.o $(sysdep-objs) /usr/lib/libasound.so.2

and the last line

slmodemd: -lasound

becomes;

# slmodemd: -lasound



[quote]
-Battery... well, I don't know to put a messure at screen, does somebody know about an application or how to do it?.
[/quote]

Which BIOS version is installed???? The latest is 3A32 and is available here (a must have);

ftp://ftp.support.acer-euro.com/notebook/aspire_3000_5000/bios

Personally I like; http://members.dslextreme.com/users/billw/gkrellm/gkrellm.html

OK now for the fun stuff, from my /etc/X11/xorg.conf file (the portions you want to edit);

[code]

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "LCD Panel 1280x800"
HorizSync 31.5 - 90.0
VertRefresh 60.0 - 60.0
Option "dpms"
Option "NoDDC"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "sis"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "SiS 660/661FX/M661FX/M661MX/741/741GX/M741/760/M760"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

[/code]

hulyom
Posts: 60
Joined: 2006/05/26 20:40:24
Location: Latitude -2 54'16\"

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by hulyom » 2006/05/28 10:41:01

wow, lot of information, thank you so much, it's very usefull, I am going to try again, It will take some time.

:lol:

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by Lenard » 2006/05/28 11:40:39

[quote]

$cat /proc/meminfo
MemTotal 120596 ----- mmm but I have 256DDR

[/quote]

I'm a little concerned by this, you state you have 256MB but showing lots less. How much 'shared memory' are you using (in the BIOS) for the video???

And you are welcome, yes it's a lot of information.... but your first post asked for a lot of help ;)

hulyom
Posts: 60
Joined: 2006/05/26 20:40:24
Location: Latitude -2 54'16\"

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by hulyom » 2006/05/30 17:28:58

well, I think because of my 256MB, I couldnt even install in graphic mode, so I decided to buy some more memory(512), but I started thinking that this laptop came with some hardware problem because I had the last bios version alredy installed(I restarted the default values), and all the problems with memory,usb, also in Winxp is very slow.

This is what I get when I ask for memory and CPU speed information, I would like to know if you have the same.

hulyom
Posts: 60
Joined: 2006/05/26 20:40:24
Location: Latitude -2 54'16\"

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by hulyom » 2006/05/30 20:38:18

There is another difference... NTFS vs. FAT, 8 partitions vs. 5, do you think It can be another reason?
__________________
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 60.0 GB, 60011642880 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7296 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 383 3076416 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/hda2 * 384 3828 27671962+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda3 3829 3841 104422+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 3842 7296 27752287+ 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3842 7296 27752256 8e Linux LVM
___________________

... I forgot:
I have for Video in BIOS 64K (by default)

and my system-config-display didn't have the "SiS 660/661FX/M661FX/M661MX/741/741GX/M741/760/M760" in section device, I will try to reinstall all the system, update kernel install more memory, and I will tell you some news after that.

Thank you for your help

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by Lenard » 2006/05/30 22:44:02

[quote]
hulyom wrote:
There is another difference... NTFS vs. FAT, 8 partitions vs. 5, do you think It can be another reason?
__________________
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 60.0 GB, 60011642880 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7296 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 383 3076416 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/hda2 * 384 3828 27671962+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda3 3829 3841 104422+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 3842 7296 27752287+ 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3842 7296 27752256 8e Linux LVM
___________________
[/quote]

The FAT32 does make a minor difference in speed for Windows XP, no effect with Linux. The LVM partition makes things slow, why not just use ext3 as the parition type instead. The number of Linux partitions does not matter that much.

[quote]
... I forgot:
I have for Video in BIOS 64K (by default)
[/quote]

Mine is also the default 64k for video in the BIOS.

[quote]
and my system-config-display didn't have the "SiS 660/661FX/M661FX/M661MX/741/741GX/M741/760/M760" in section device, I will try to reinstall all the system, update kernel install more memory, and I will tell you some news after that.
[/quote]

That is because I buld my own custom kernels from kernel.org instead of using the supplied kernels from Red Hat, currently runing kernel-2.6.16.18. Do not worry about the BoardName check and verify the Driver (two lines above) is the same. The important part is this;

[code]
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
[/code]

I had to hand edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf file and add the two 1280x800 mode entries. If they do not work then try 1280x768 instead (a bit moe generic for the generic sis video diver in the Red Hat kernel). Just use your choice of test edite (vi, nedit, gedit kwrite or whatever) to make the changes, you can cut and paste if you want.

My system came with 1-GB of memory and a 100-GB hard drive, other then that our systems are the same. When not working the CPU hard the system speed is 800-MHz and jumps upto full speed when working hard. I also do not use selinux on my laptop, it is disabled in the kernels I build and is not an active service.

hulyom
Posts: 60
Joined: 2006/05/26 20:40:24
Location: Latitude -2 54'16\"

Re: Issues with CentOS 4.2 x86_64 on AMD Turion 64?

Post by hulyom » 2006/05/31 18:55:40

The video resolution works perfect now, I am just going to wait until the memory arrives, (I am in Crete-Greece) to make the computer faster.

Thanks you and I will tell you my news, in the next week

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”