Installing on Compaq Proliant DL590/64

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, s390(x) and PowerPC)
Post Reply
machine1
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006/05/20 17:32:41
Location: Fredericksburg, VA USA

Installing on Compaq Proliant DL590/64

Post by machine1 » 2006/05/20 19:53:54

Okay, even Compaq tech support is lost on this one.
(it cost me $35 for them to tell me to buy their Unix distro for this box at $1,000.)

Computer has 8 GIG RAM, two 733MHz Itanium processors, three SCSI HDDs, and the usual factory supplied hardware.

What it will do-
It will boot from the CentOS cd (ver 4) I burned from the downloadable ISO file.
It will boot from the Windows 2003 .NET server trial edition CD and installs, but I don't want .NET.
It won't boot, or even give me the "Press any key to boot from CD" on Win XP or 2003 ia64 any variety.

What it won't do-
The CentOS install fails with a kernal panic.
Several pages of hex dump type info appears, so fast I can't read it or stop it.
A Call Trace screen pops up showing:
ia64_illegal_op_fault+0xa0/0x1a0
dispatch_illegal-op-fault+0x300/0x800
Kernel panic - not syncing: Fatal exception - and all the keyboard LEDs and HDD LEDs start blinking. A power cycle is the only recovery.

Any clues? I know the RAM in the box is probably worth more than the rest of the hardware, but I'd like to put this thing back in service. Feel free to flame me- I'm a rookie and just learning about server class systems. :-?

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Installing on Compaq Proliant DL590/64

Post by WhatsHisName » 2006/05/21 20:41:10

Your kernel in the default configuration may not support that much memory.

Look at this post: http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=3864&forum=29

and then try booting with only 4GB memory installed.

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”