FireFox java pluggin AMD64

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, s390(x) and PowerPC)
User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: FireFox java pluggin AMD64

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/03/11 21:22:03

In addition to having unplanned 3rd-party updates bite me on the rear occasionally, minimizing 3rd-party repo usage also tends to make doing OS version-upgrades using yum easier.

Since you often have to uninstall the 3rd-party packages to do the yum-based version-upgrades in the FC-series, I assume the same will be true for yum upgrading to the upcoming CentOS5 release...

Lenard
Posts: 2283
Joined: 2005/11/29 02:35:25
Location: Indiana

Re: FireFox java pluggin AMD64

Post by Lenard » 2007/03/12 10:58:28

So far, working with the 5 betas it turns out to a bit more flexible and capable with some third party repos. Many have spent a good deal of time working out some of the package version issues (but not all). It is still a good idea to keep third party repos disabled by default with a few exceptions (rpmforge for example).

I will suggest that a clean install of the upcoming 5 release be done instead of upgrading. The changes from 4 to 5 are major, sorta of like jumping from Fedora Core 3 to Fedora Core 6.

I am still trying to decide if I will be RHEL, CentOS or Scientific Linux based when all the 5 versions are released, all are that great and stable. The only concern or issue I still have are some of the package requirement/dependenency bundling in a multi-lib environment. Far to many packages still are installed by default but not really needed, but that's separate issue.

xynapz
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007/03/10 15:53:01

Re: FireFox java pluggin AMD64

Post by xynapz » 2007/04/06 12:59:15

sorry for not replying sooner,

i use fedoracore 6 64bit aswell - same solution just install the 32 bit version of firefox. then you can just get the 32bit plugins....simple.

rogene
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007/01/30 16:40:47

Re: FireFox java pluggin AMD64

Post by rogene » 2007/07/26 00:40:06

I am also trying to install 32-bit version of firefox on my 64-bit architecture. I want to be sure that I understand everything before I unstall this current version.

I added these lines to my Base-repo file:

[base-32bit]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Base 32bit
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=i386&repo=os
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/os/i386/
gpgcheck=1
enabled=0
gpgkey=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/RPM-GPG-KEY-centos4

[update-32bit]
name=CentOS-$releasever - Updates 32bit
mirrorlist=http://mirrorlist.centos.org/?release=$releasever&arch=i386&repo=updates
#baseurl=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/$releasever/updates/i386/
gpgcheck=1
enabled=0
gpgkey=http://mirror.centos.org/centos/RPM-GPG-KEY-centos4

But I still only find the installed 64-bit version
[root@localhost yum.repos.d]# yum list all | grep firefox
firefox.x86_64 1.5.0.12-0.3.el4.cento installed

What did I miss?

Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”