Installing CEntOS under z/VM

Support for the other architectures (X86_64, s390(x) and PowerPC)
Post Reply
antoon_vekeman
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007/07/04 15:11:49
Location: Bouwel Belgium
Contact:

Installing CEntOS under z/VM

Post by antoon_vekeman » 2007/07/04 15:39:24

Hello all,

I have successfully uploaded CentOS s390x. I can perform the initial start of CentOS 4 in a z/VM guest machine up to the point where the network configuration is started.

In z/VM I have successfully defined a virtual systemwide Lan and a virtual NIC in the Linux guest with the 3 devices 600 601 and 602.

During network configuration CentOS complains about the address 600:

> qeth: loading qeth S/390 OSA-Express driver
> cat: /sys/devices/qeth/0.0.0600/if_name: No such file or directory
> SIOCSIFNETMASK: No such device
> SIOCSIFBRDADDR: No such device

and no network is configured.

Here is a copy of the configuration parms used:

HOSTNAME="linux1.sprdb2.com"
DASD="150-151"
NETTYPE="qeth"
TYPE="Ethernet"
IPADDR="192.168.0.10"
SUBCHANNELS="0.0.0600,0.0.0601,0.0.602"
NETWORK="192.168.0.0"
NETMASK="255.255.255.0"
BROADCAST="192.168.0.255"
SEARCHDNS="example.com:sprdb2.com"
GATEWAY="192.168.0.4"
DNS="192.168.0.15"

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Antoon

damogran
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007/01/16 15:42:12

Re: Installing CEntOS under z/VM

Post by damogran » 2007/07/12 07:52:42

hi antoon,

do you still got the problem.

are you sure that your nic works properly? how did you created it?

greetings
damo

antoon_vekeman
Posts: 6
Joined: 2007/07/04 15:11:49
Location: Bouwel Belgium
Contact:

Re: Installing CEntOS under z/VM

Post by antoon_vekeman » 2007/07/14 13:31:19

Hi damo,

I solved the problem by defining a HIPER LAN to z/VM and adding the device as SPECIAL in the directory.

DEFINE LAN VIRTLAN MAXCONN INF OWNERID SYSTEM TYPE HIPER

In the directory I added for users TCPIP and LINUX:
SPECIAL 1D00 HIPER 3 SYSTEM VIRTLAN

In the PROFILE TCPIP I added

DEVICE HIPR1 HIPERS 1D00 PORTNAME VIRTLAN AUTORESTART
LINK QDIO1 QDIOIP HIPR1
HOME 192.168.0.10 QDIO1
GATEWAY
192.168.0 = QDIO1 1500 255.255.255.0 0
DEFAULTNET 192.168.0.1 QDIO1 1492 0
START HIPR1

In the Linux configuration I set PORTNAME to VIRTLAN.

This solved te problem.

Antoon

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - X86_64,s390(x) and PowerPC Support”