What is this GRUB thing...

Installation and support for Oracle DB on CentOS.
asad

Post by asad » 2006/06/05 15:28:06

hello,

I am installing centos with in addition to windows xp in my pentium III machine. there is plenty of space in partitioned disk ; infact every thing went without any problem until the installer greeted me with congratulations.. for installing centOS. It asked me to re-boot the machine. After that there is a single word on screen saying "GRUB _ " with blinking curson where i can not punchin anykey (or it dont show it to me) but after some keystrokes , i guess , keyboard buffer exhausted and started beeping at me! nothing is working now....

i guess this is boot loader problem, that cannot (somehow) guess what to load or ask; now what to do ( i'm new to U/L inx) world and this is driving crazy... i tried to start to install process again from scratch but eventually ended up with the same screen saying ... GRUB ...

can you guys help me out from here...

i'll be grateful..

thanks,
asad

hughesjr
Site Admin

Post by hughesjr » 2006/06/07 11:34:26

Somehow the bootloader didn't get installed on the machine. It should have unless you choose "Do not install a boot loader", a none standard option.

Not sure how this belongs in the Oracle topic :-)

Boot from the CD-1 ... use the command:

[b]linux rescue[/b]

Select to have it mount your partitoins, and after it mounts your partitons and dumps you to the command line do:

[b]chroot /mnt/sysimage[/b]

the command [b]fdisk -l[/b] will tell you all your partitons ... you need to know which one is /boot (if it is seperate) and which one is / (that is root). If you have an LVM root, that also needs to be known.

The command [b]mount[/b] will also help you determine this.