Security concern from a newbie--please help to explain

Installation and support for Oracle DB on CentOS.
Paddyman

Post by Paddyman » 2007/03/03 07:41:03

Hello,
I am very new to the Linux world and CentOS in particluar. I would like to install CentOS 4.4 in my Desktop at home and then install oracle9i on it for practice purposes. In the cause of reading the online HOWTO, I came across about 2 articles clearly stipulating that the Firewall, SELinux and Automatic DHCP must be disable.

http://www.idevelopment.info/data/Oracle/DBA_tips/Linux/LINUX_12.shtml#Installing%20CentOS%204.0%20Enterprise%20Linux

Now my question is: I am using a cable modem to access the internet and I am using my Desktop frequently to access the Internet too. Would this not be too much of a risk for me to bear?
Will I still be protected from hackers (in and out bound protection)or worms, viruses etc if I disable the Firewall, SELinux and Automatic DHCP? My question might sound stupid or silly to professionalsor people who are familier with Linux security but I'm just being cautious and careful therby learning some thing new.
I would really much appreciate any body's time for any explanation in the aformentioned concerned.
Thank you all.

pjwelsh

Post by pjwelsh » 2007/03/03 20:23:13

Great question! Frequently, we are faced with this kind of delima. Oracle is not the only software that would rather you just disable SELinux than helping to keep it active. Having said that, the "targeted" policy does NOT enable full MAC (maditory access control). Instead, you end up with some programs that will fall under SELinux suppervision (like httpd). So, that make it better for other things like Oracle. See info on SELinux for RHEL4 at http://linux.web.cern.ch/linux/scientific4/docs/rhel-selg-en-4/