Problem installing Oracle Database 10gR2 on CentOS 5

Installation and support for Oracle DB on CentOS.
Hammi

Postby Hammi » 2007/05/31 12:43:32

Hello everyone !

First to say, I'm a newbie with CentOS. So please be kind with me. :-)

I'm trying to install Oracle Database 10gR2 on my newly installed CentOS 5 i386 (on an HP Proliant DL380G3). It should be the first step in setting up a complete "Enterprise Manager Grid Control" - server.

After solving some issues with missing packets I'm now confronted with a new problem after having successfully launched Oracle Universal Installer. OUI tells me, that "Oracle Database 10g is not certified on the current operating system". More precise :

Checking operating system requirements ...
Expected result: One of redhat-3,redhat-4,SuSE-9,asianux-1,asianux-2
Actual Result: redhat-CentOS release 5 (Final)
Check complete. The overall result of this check is: Failed <<<<

But I'm wondering that obviously many people in this forum managed it already to install Oracle DB 10g on CentOS, even on CentOS 5. So there seems to be a simple and convenient way to circumvent the problem. I noticed that that there's a important OUI-configuration-file under "/oracle/product/10.2.0/db_1/inventory/prereqs/db/refhost.xml", which seems to be used for checking allowed environments. But I don't understand the meaning of the included XML-Tags and how to modify them for properly matching to CentOS 5. And is this really the last problem need to be solved for OUI to install the DB and later on the Application Server for Grid Control ?

Can anyone help ?

Best regards,
Marcus

foxb

Re: Problem installing Oracle Database 10gR2 on CentOS 5

Postby foxb » 2007/05/31 15:41:42

I've installed Oracle XE (10.2.0.02 if I'm not mistaken) on CentOS 5 and it worked, but RHEL5/CentOS5 are not certified for Oracle.

So if you need support they will refuse it until you use certified OS.

CentOS 4.5 will be your choise.

dizwell

Postby dizwell » 2007/06/08 23:27:49