A question about CentOS

If it doesn't fit in another category, ask it here.
satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/23 15:09:42

Hi WhatsHisName,

[quote]
Did you update your motherboard BIOS?
[/quote]
No. IIRC ASUS provides a software which can upgrade BIOS easily. I'll look at the CDs provided with the mobo.

[quote]
But before someone buys a M2N-E based on my comments, I could not get the sound to work properly. That may change in CentOS5, because CentOS4.4 is using fairly old ALSA drivers. Get the Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe instead, which is a good motherboard for linux.[/quote]
Noted with tks. Sound is not important to me. A working onboard NIC is most important to me.

Others noted with tks.

B.R.
satimis

satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/23 15:16:02

Hi Lenard

[quote]
Please post and/or use the output from the typed command (as root);

/sbin/lspci -v[/quote]
[/quote]

# lspci -lv[code]
none0@pci0:0:0: class=0x050000 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036910de rev=0xa1
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = memory
subclass = RAM
isab0@pci0:1:0: class=0x060100 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036010de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-ISA
none1@pci0:1:1: class=0x0c0500 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036810de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = serial bus
subclass = SMBus
none2@pci0:1:2: class=0x050000 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036a10de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = memory
subclass = RAM
ohci0@pci0:2:0: class=0x0c0310 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036c10de rev=0xa1
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = serial bus
subclass = USB
ehci0@pci0:2:1: class=0x0c0320 card=0x82391043 chip=0x036d10de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = serial bus
subclass = USB
atapci0@pci0:4:0: class=0x01018a card=0x82391043 chip=0x036e10de
rev=0xa1 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = mass storage
subclass = ATA
atapci1@pci0:5:0: class=0x010185 card=0x82391043 chip=0x037f10de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = mass storage
subclass = ATA
atapci2@pci0:5:1: class=0x010185 card=0x82391043 chip=0x037f10de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = mass storage
subclass = ATA
atapci3@pci0:5:2: class=0x010185 card=0x82391043 chip=0x037f10de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = mass storage
subclass = ATA
pcib1@pci0:6:0: class=0x060401 card=0x000000b8 chip=0x037010de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
none3@pci0:6:1: class=0x040300 card=0x81f61043 chip=0x037110de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = multimedia
none4@pci0:8:0: class=0x068000 card=0x82391043 chip=0x037310de rev=0xa2
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
pcib2@pci0:10:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037610de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
pcib3@pci0:11:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037410de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
pcib4@pci0:12:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037410de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
pcib5@pci0:13:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037810de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
pcib6@pci0:14:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037510de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
pcib7@pci0:15:0: class=0x060400 card=0x00000040 chip=0x037710de
rev=0xa2 hdr=0x01
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = bridge
subclass = PCI-PCI
hostb0@pci0:24:0: class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11001022
rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
device = 'Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology
Configuration'
class = bridge
subclass = HOST-PCI
hostb1@pci0:24:1: class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11011022
rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
device = 'Athlon 64 / Opteron Address Map'
class = bridge
subclass = HOST-PCI
hostb2@pci0:24:2: class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11021022
rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
device = 'Athlon 64 / Opteron DRAM Controller'
class = bridge
subclass = HOST-PCI
hostb3@pci0:24:3: class=0x060000 card=0x00000000 chip=0x11031022
rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
vendor = 'Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)'
device = 'Athlon 64 / Opteron Miscellaneous Control'
class = bridge
subclass = HOST-PCI
none5@pci7:0:0: class=0x030000 card=0x81f31043 chip=0x01df10de rev=0xa1
hdr=0x00
vendor = 'NVIDIA Corporation'
class = display
subclass = VGA
[/code]

Tks.


B.R.
satimis

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/02/23 16:27:14

Get the latest M2N-E BIOS at the [url=http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx]Asus Support/Download[/url] site.

The latest BIOS for the M2N-E as of today are 0602 and beta-0701.

Copy the update to a floppy or USB flash drive and the motherboard can be flashed from the BIOS setup menus. No external program needed (usually, but look for warnings on the Asus site).

satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/24 11:52:14

[quote]
WhatsHisName wrote:
Get the latest M2N-E BIOS at the [url=http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx]Asus Support/Download[/url] site.

The latest BIOS for the M2N-E as of today are 0602 and beta-0701.

Copy the update to a floppy or USB flash drive and the motherboard can be flashed from the BIOS setup menus. No external program needed (usually, but look for warnings on the Asus site).[/quote]
Hi WhatsHisName,

Tks for your advice.

Is there a way checking the version of BIOS on the mobo. Tks.

This ASUS M2N-E mobo is a new replacement. I got it from ASUS agent here about one week ago. I have a new ASUS M2N-E mobo purchased about 2 weeks ago. There were problems on it. Therefore the agent agreed replacing it with another new mobo. Before delivering me the replacement the agent checked the same overnight. I don't know whether the agent has upgrade the BIOS.


B.R.
satimis

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/02/25 01:40:16

[quote]Is there a way checking the version of BIOS on the mobo.[/quote]
Don’t remember if it shows on the boot screen or on the first BIOS setup page, but you can for sure find it on the BIOS setup page that allows you to flash the BIOS.

satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/25 14:03:41

[quote]
WhatsHisName wrote:
[quote]Is there a way checking the version of BIOS on the mobo.[/quote]
Don’t remember if it shows on the boot screen or on the first BIOS setup page, but you can for sure find it on the BIOS setup page that allows you to flash the BIOS.[/quote]
Hi WhatsHisName,

I tried them including pressing [PauseBreak] and could not find the version. It only displayed "ALI' logo.

I find the version by running "dmidecode".[code]
Vendor: Phoenix Technologies, LTD
Version: ASUS M2N-E ACPI BIOS Revision 0502
Release Date: 12/04/2006
Address: 0xE0000
Runtime Size: 128 kB
ROM Size: 512 kB
....
[/code]

I'll upgrade the BIOS as advised.


B.R.
satimis

satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/26 04:36:40

Hi WhatsHisName,

BIOS update:-

Hi folks,

M2N-E
AMD Athlon64 X2 AM2 512kx2 3800

I'm prepared to update the BIOS and found on;
http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx
the newest
M2N-E Deluxe BIOS version 0802

Yesterday it was version 0602.zip. Is it the right BIOS for my mobo? Because it indicates M2N-E Deluxe. My mobo is;
M2N-E

Tks.


About update procedure;
- Whether download the file 0802.zip, copy it on floppy and unzip it there (after unzip:- 0802.bin)
- reboot PC then it'll automatically update at booting
- Or I have to select the boot sequency, 1st boot - floppy. However it it only a .bin file.
- Or whether I have to boot BIOS setup page and update the BIOS there:-
on BIOS setup page - Tools
select "ASUS EZ Flash 2"?

Pls advise. TIA


B.R.
satimis

User avatar
WhatsHisName
Posts: 1544
Joined: 2005/12/19 20:21:43
Location: /earth/usa/nj

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by WhatsHisName » 2007/02/26 19:51:56

Yes, there is something wrong today at the Asus support/download site. The M2N-E “latest” is showing the wrong BIOS update, but if you open the BIOS tab, it shows the correct updates. Today’s latest, 0701, is listed as stable (no longer beta).

The good news is that their BIOS update utility will not let you install an update for the wrong motherboard.

You should be able to enter the BIOS setup by pressing the [Delete] key when the bootup logo appears. You can turn the silly logo off from one of the BIOS setup menus.

The BIOS updater is under the BIOS setup menu “Tools / EZ Flash 2". Real easy to use.

satimis
Posts: 123
Joined: 2006/11/14 14:24:08

Re: A question about CentOS

Post by satimis » 2007/02/27 10:57:56

Hi WhatsHisName,

I have the BIOS updated

[quote]
The BIOS updater is under the BIOS setup menu “Tools / EZ Flash 2". Real easy to use.[/quote]
It was very easy. First I made sure the old BIOS was on the CD coming with the mobo before taking any action. 0802 version BIOS also works here.

# dmidecode -s bios-version
displaying its version number.

Tks.


B.R.
satimis

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 4 - Miscellaneous Questions”