How to get system info?

If it doesn't fit in another category, ask it here.
Post Reply
joboy
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007/07/02 05:26:41

How to get system info?

Post by joboy » 2007/07/02 05:41:40

Hi,

I am a new member of this forum, as well as a new user of Linux and centOS in particular. How will I be able to know the hard disk remaining space, system memory(RAM), etc.(device drivers)?

Thanks in advance.

daihard
Posts: 19
Joined: 2006/11/01 06:42:44
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Contact:

Re: How to get system info?

Post by daihard » 2007/07/02 20:17:29

[quote]
joboy wrote:
Hi,

I am a new member of this forum, as well as a new user of Linux and centOS in particular. How will I be able to know the hard disk remaining space, system memory(RAM), etc.(device drivers)? [/quote]
To get the hard disk usage, run the following command:

[code]$ df -h[/code]

To get the system memory info:

[code]$ cat /proc/meminfo[/code]

To get the CPU info:

[code]$ cat /proc/cpuinfo[/code]

:)

joboy
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007/07/02 05:26:41

Re: How to get system info?

Post by joboy » 2007/07/03 03:23:43

daihard:

thanks for your reply. I got interested with such info because after opeing more than six on-line sites, my Sever-PC tends to crawl down. Well to share the output, out of 40G only 3Gig is available and has 256MB RAM.

foxb
Posts: 1921
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

How to get system info?

Post by foxb » 2007/07/03 14:28:58

If you use gui 256M RAM is simply the minimum and firefox is eating memory especially with flash based web sites like youtube.

Probably you need to at least double the RAM.

joboy
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007/07/02 05:26:41

Re: How to get system info?

Post by joboy » 2007/07/04 07:12:09

foxb:

Exactly, I got only firefox as my browser.. and do access youtube and wikimapia.
I guessed you're familiar with netvibes, I think it also does something not good with my RAM-scarce PC (sigh).

foxb
Posts: 1921
Joined: 2006/04/20 19:03:33
Location: Montreal/QC

Re: How to get system info?

Post by foxb » 2007/07/04 14:52:55

Only thing that can be done is to use more lite GUI like xfce.

You may try alternative browsers like opera.

Post Reply