Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

General support questions
z_haseeb
Posts: 68
Joined: 2009/12/31 07:58:30

Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby z_haseeb » 2017/12/04 13:12:24

ENVIRONMENT
OS = RHEL 7.0
Total nodes = 2
HA software = pcs
Cluster Filesystem = no
Filesystem = LVM

QUERY
Suppose if an application is in house developed and we installed, configured and running this application on both pacemaker HA nodes simultaneously. Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for that application which is running on both nodes locally ?

hunter86_bg
Posts: 800
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby hunter86_bg » 2017/12/04 15:56:26

If it is an in house developed -you need a systemd service or a start/stop script which pacemaker will be using.
Be aware that you need cluster aware filesystem if both applications use the same shared storage.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 21161
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby TrevorH » 2017/12/04 16:10:31

Your app would need to be aware that it was running in both places and contain logic to allow that to happen.

If you really mean RHEL 7.0 then you are a) way out of date as 7.4 is current and b) in the wrong forum as this is for CentOS not RHEL.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

z_haseeb
Posts: 68
Joined: 2009/12/31 07:58:30

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby z_haseeb » 2017/12/04 17:37:35

TrevorH wrote:Your app would need to be aware that it was running in both places and contain logic to allow that to happen.


Both applications will run at both nodes independently. (They just need to process client request, push to shared database and acknowledge clients)

z_haseeb
Posts: 68
Joined: 2009/12/31 07:58:30

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby z_haseeb » 2017/12/04 17:40:37

hunter86_bg wrote:If it is an in house developed -you need a systemd service or a start/stop script which pacemaker will be using.
Be aware that you need cluster aware filesystem if both applications use the same shared storage.


- Yes we are going to use start/stop script definitely.
- Both applications will be on local storage instead of shared storage on each/both HA nodes(No shared storage for applications).

hunter86_bg
Posts: 800
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby hunter86_bg » 2017/12/04 18:46:59

Consider using latest CentOS/RHEL as numerous bug fixes and security patches have been implemented since 2014.

z_haseeb
Posts: 68
Joined: 2009/12/31 07:58:30

Re: Can we make Active/Active (Clone) resource for a local installed application

Postby z_haseeb » 2017/12/05 04:29:38

hunter86_bg wrote:Consider using latest CentOS/RHEL as numerous bug fixes and security patches have been implemented since 2014.

Acknowledged.