rpm query give '(contains no files)'

General support questions
Post Reply
mghe
Posts: 698
Joined: 2015/11/24 12:04:43
Location: Katowice, Poland

rpm query give '(contains no files)'

Post by mghe » 2017/12/23 13:33:20

Hi,

I have got a server preinstalled by hosting provider with CentOS 7.2 -> update to 7.4

When I tried run query rpm I have got answer '(contains no files)'

Any ideas?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 23205
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: rpm query give '(contains no files)'

Post by TrevorH » 2017/12/23 15:23:56

What command did you run?

It sounds like you queried a metapackage - one that just has dependencies to pull in a bunch of stuff at the same time but doesn't own any files. Using rpm -q --requires $package might show you.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

mghe
Posts: 698
Joined: 2015/11/24 12:04:43
Location: Katowice, Poland

Re: rpm query give '(contains no files)'

Post by mghe » 2018/01/23 06:37:51

You had right TrevorH.

Post Reply