add-modify path

General support questions
jrgt_1976
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017/12/23 07:42:05
Location: Mexico

add-modify path

Postby jrgt_1976 » 2018/01/11 04:21:31

I installed AWS CLI with pip command. The issue that I have is that everytime I open a new terminal window I have to type " export PATH=~/.local/bin:$PATH " in order to be able to run de command.
What do I need to modify to establish permanently the path?

Honestly, a few months earlier installed the same AWS Cli but with another method and I don't recall having this problem.

Thanks for your comments.

User avatar
avij
Forum Moderator
Posts: 2377
Joined: 2010/12/01 19:25:52
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Contact:

Re: add-modify path

Postby avij » 2018/01/11 06:35:41

Try editing ~/.bash_profile and logout/login again.

jrgt_1976
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017/12/23 07:42:05
Location: Mexico

Re: add-modify path

Postby jrgt_1976 » 2018/01/11 17:17:34

Well, that's a tricky one.

My current PATH on ~/.bash_profile is PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin . I'm trying to reach /usr/bin/python.

If I type echo $SHELL appears /bin/bash.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22323
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: add-modify path

Postby TrevorH » 2018/01/11 17:20:40

/usr/bin/python is already within the default PATH so your issue is something else. If you need /usr/local/bin added to $PATH then avij's advice is sound and the best way to do that, though I believe the default PATH already includes /usr/local/bin in any case.

As an aside, please make sure you do not attempt to replace /usr/bin/python with a different version than we ship. Doing so will break half the system tools as shipped by Redhat and may require a reinstall to fix.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

jrgt_1976
Posts: 19
Joined: 2017/12/23 07:42:05
Location: Mexico

Re: add-modify path

Postby jrgt_1976 » 2018/01/11 18:23:49

I agree. The funny part is everytime I run " aws configure " appears bash: aws: command not found.
But if I type export PATH=~/.local/bin:$PATH and then " aws configure " it runs perfectly.
Now, as You mention, I don´t want to mess up my path file.