Problem with partitions

General support questions
dani10

Problem with partitions

Post by dani10 » 2018/01/14 20:10:58

First of all, I'm new in CentOs, Linux, Ubuntu and all of this, so you can treat me like a child if you want.

I had Windows 10 and I installed CentOs 7 trying to make it dual boot, but it did not went as planned. At first I couldn't install it properly so I tried more than once. I can't boot to Windows and I can't add boot options, the command "Add boot option" from UEFI has disappeared, so I can just boot from CentOs. I would like to be able to boot to Windows (and later uninstall CentOs or make it properly) but I can't access to the partitions and I am not able to identify which partition is from one O.S. or other (and what it's its purpose). So I tried many things and I don't know what to do, I am starting with CentOs and Linux and everything and I can't do anything. Please need help to come back to Windows!

PD: I give you the results of fdisk -l.
Thank you!
Attachments
instantánea1.png
instantánea1.png (223.08 KiB) Viewed 721 times

owl102

Re: Problem with partitions

Post by owl102 » 2018/01/14 21:03:25

dani10 wrote:PD: I give you the results of fdisk -l.
First of all: Please don't post screenshots of your Terminal. Select the text instead, click with the right mouse button, choose "Copy" and paste the text afterwards into the post. Otherwise we cannot quote text from the Terminal to reference the line(s) we are talking about.

Now back to your problem: It seems you have a Windows installation in UEFI mode and a CentOS installation in Legacy/CSM-Mode. This is bad since Windows installed in UEFI mode can only boot in UEFI mode, and therefore you don't have a "Windows" boot entry in the Linux/Grub bootloader menu. (Even if you would try to add it manually, it would be dommed to fail.)

Switch your UEFI to "UEFI only" (and especially disable "Legacy" or "CSM" support) and re-install CentOS again. Afterwards install NTFS support: