Can't find suspend/hibernate options

General support questions
bondokbe
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/03/16 09:27:36

Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby bondokbe » 2018/03/16 11:32:40

Hello, everybody I am new with centos, I can't find suspend/hibernate options inside shutdown options when i click it, is there any way to add them or maybe modify.
thanks in advance :)

mghe
Posts: 650
Joined: 2015/11/24 12:04:43
Location: Katowice, Poland

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby mghe » 2018/03/16 12:10:05

Try with 'ALT'

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22352
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby TrevorH » 2018/03/16 12:56:57

That's not very friendly is it? It just bungs it into suspend without stopping to ask "are you sure?"
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

George99
Posts: 24
Joined: 2013/09/08 17:01:05
Location: Germany

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby George99 » 2018/03/16 14:14:37

Why would I open the menu, hold the ALT button and do a mouse click if I am not sure?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 22352
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby TrevorH » 2018/03/16 14:44:23

Clicking poweroff/restart there prompts for an "Are you sure". I'm not really sure why suspending it should be any different. I did it on my VM then had to go reboot it as I couldn't find any way to unsuspend it.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

bondokbe
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018/03/16 09:27:36

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby bondokbe » 2018/03/16 14:56:26

Thank you guys it worked with ALT key,
but what about if the OS is installed as a VM not on a laptop ? how I gonna unsuspend, or wake it up, we can say it's a bug :)

George99
Posts: 24
Joined: 2013/09/08 17:01:05
Location: Germany

Re: Can't find suspend/hibernate options

Postby George99 » 2018/03/16 15:00:02

@TrevorH: Well, you just have to press the power button - which might be a little tricky on a virtual machine ;)

EDIT: If you use VirtualBox you can send an ACPI event (HOST + H) to the VM to wake up.