Fail2Ban installation

General support questions
Craos

Fail2Ban installation

Post by Craos » 2018/03/20 10:07:12

I am quite new to CentOS. I tried to install Fail2ban on my new Linux server with CentOS 7 64bit. I followed a guide on internet. Everything worked fine until I started to edit /etc/fail2ban/fail2ban.local. I wasn't able to restart the service - it failed. So I decided to remove Fail2ban and install it from scratch. I did it this way:

systemctl disable fail2ban
systemctl daemon-reload
systemctl reset-failed
yum remove fail2ban

I manualy deleted directory fail2ban from /etc and I deleted fail2ban.service from /usr/lib/system/multi-user.target.wants

After all of this I run

yum install fail2ban

It works fine. Unfortunately command

systemctl start fail2ban

gives me error - Failed to start fail2ban.service: Unit not found.

Please, is there a way, how to fix this mess?

lightman47

Re: Fail2Ban installation

Post by lightman47 » 2018/03/20 12:20:25

There's /var/log/fail2ban.log

Check your config files again - sounds a lot like you've enabled a jai for a service that isn't running on your computer. Try disabling jails, one at a time, and trying 'systemctl start fail2ban' to find out which one(s).

Another possibility is that there's no log file for a service - vsftp did that to me and I had to 'touch' it to create one.

I hope this is helpful.

Craos

Post by Craos » 2018/03/20 13:07:07

lightman47 wrote:There's /var/log/fail2ban.log

Check your config files again - sounds a lot like you've enabled a jai for a service that isn't running on your computer. Try disabling jails, one at a time, and trying 'systemctl start fail2ban' to find out which one(s).

Another possibility is that there's no log file for a service - vsftp did that to me and I had to 'touch' it to create one.

I hope this is helpful.
Thanks a lot for your hints.

Jails - sry, as I am new to Linux, I am not sure what you are talking about. So far I have met "jails" within setting FTP.