HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

General support questions
jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/06/09 11:14:50

I have two Gen 7 Proliants I've tried installing CentOS 7 on needing the graphical interface. The installation runs fine but when the GUI presents itself it's nothing but a grey screen. If I boot from a DVD or USB stick into the LiveCD the graphical interface works fine. I don't know what driver the LiveCD uses for the graphical interface compared to what's used in the full GUI install. I thought there was a problem with one of the Gen 7 servers so I took the disks out of it and installed in the other server but same grey screen. When the grey GUI is on the main display I am able to SSH into the machine so I know it's not hung during boot up.

How do I find out what video driver / settings the LiveCD uses so I can set that in the full installed GUI.

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24078
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by TrevorH » 2018/06/09 12:35:46

Look in /var/log/Xorg.*.log and it should tell you.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 12:58:47

Server located 600 miles away. Used HP Remote Insight to watch boot up.
There is a bootable USB with latest CentOS 7 ISO on it. I tried to get machine to boot into the LiveCD but can't have to have someone physically try to boot the LiveCD option to see what graphical driver it uses there. The installed CentOS 7 version uses Radeon driver. The GUI-Server option was selected during the install. We end up with just the dark grey with CentOS7 logo after boot. Pressing CTRL-ALT-F4 brings up a text login screen. I can log in and have full control but really want the GUI to work.
graphicalscreennologin.jpg
graphicalscreennologin.jpg (44.81 KiB) Viewed 422 times

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 13:00:52

Here's screen capture after pressing CTRL-ALT-F4.
textloginfine.jpg
textloginfine.jpg (50.74 KiB) Viewed 422 times

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24078
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by TrevorH » 2018/07/19 13:02:27

Did you try reading that log file yet?
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 13:32:33

Yes I did. I brought up the problematic server along side a working GUI-server install on a Lenovo desktop I built yesterday. Since the CentOS7 grey graphical screen appears without login I didn't think it was a graphics driver problem.
sidebyside.jpg
sidebyside.jpg (212.58 KiB) Viewed 414 times

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 13:41:42

The only error in the log file:
onlyerror.jpg
onlyerror.jpg (80.03 KiB) Viewed 412 times

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24078
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by TrevorH » 2018/07/19 13:46:35

At a guess, it looks more like a problem with the window manager that you are trying to use. I'd suspect that you don't have all the e..g gnome* packages installed that are required to get a full working desktop. But that's a guess and I would have expected to see indications that it was that in Xorg.0.log.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 14:02:09

I see a post from 2014 that the /usr/lib64/dri/radeon_dri.so was missing. I checked my Lenovo server I built yesterday to see if it was on there (to try copying it) but it's not on that machine either (not needed). viewtopic.php?t=48561

jjrowan
Posts: 104
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 14:06:38

I didn't see an option to choose which desktop to use when installing the GUI-server. Is there a way to change to a different desktop from a text login or via VNC?

Post Reply