HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

General support questions
jjrowan
Posts: 100
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/19 15:00:35

I googled other desktops, found thread on installing Cinnemon (not familiar with it), installed it but can't figure out how to use that.
I see from same post you can choose which desktop when you are at the login screen but this screen just has CentOS 7 logo, nothing else, can't choose different desktop. Is there a config file that can be edited via text login to specify Cinnemon rather than Gnome classic?
otherdesktops.jpg
otherdesktops.jpg (26.64 KiB) Viewed 306 times

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1382
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/07/20 03:49:35

Have you checked

Code: Select all

dmesg
or

Code: Select all

journalctl -b

jjrowan
Posts: 100
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/20 13:59:18

It appears this was a documented bug gnome-session 3.25.? 3.26 was to address it.
I opened a secure shell session into the server and
I ran gnome-session --version on the problematic server and it said 3.25....
I found the gnome.session file, there were three others. I renamed the gnome.session file and copied the gnome-classic to gnome.session, got a screen with several folders on it but no way to launch terminal or access to programs / utilities.
With the classic renamed as gnome.session I opened a secure shell session from workstation again, tried to run
gnome-session --version but just comes back to command prompt, no results.
gnome-session --help shows --version as an option.
rpm -q gnome-session says it's version 3.26.1-11.el7.x86_64
man page says you can specify --session=SESSION NAME but
I get error when I specify different session name.
I don't know why initially gnome-session --version produced results showing 3.25.xxx but now gnome-session --version returns to prompt.

jjrowan
Posts: 100
Joined: 2005/09/10 13:07:15
Contact:

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by jjrowan » 2018/07/23 14:24:52

Having spent countless hours trying to solve this going to disable onboard video card and add a half-height PCI card to see if that get around the GUI no login prompt issue.

pjsr2
Posts: 343
Joined: 2014/03/27 20:11:07

Re: HP Proliant DL380 Gen 7

Post by pjsr2 » 2018/07/23 16:03:51

Is this builtin video ATI ES1000, 64MB video standard ?

The ATI ES1000 has no 3D acceleration. You need to install a graphical desktop that does not need 3D graphics, for example XFCE (You can download it from EPEL).

Post Reply