Multiple Server Problems

General support questions
MikeCharlie

Multiple Server Problems

Post by MikeCharlie » 2018/11/15 11:04:24

Hi all,

So first of all I am a little new to CentOS as have always stuck with openSUSE before

I have been having some problems and wondering if anybody can help me but first I will describe my system. I am currently running CentOS 7 on a virtual Hyper-V machine and it has Plex running on it. My plan is to put this on a computer I have with a RAID 5 setup but before I do that I want to prove I can do everything I want to before investing more money. So now to the problems:

1) The first problem is more with Plex but there forums seem to not be able to help. The problem is when I am watching a video on a firestick streaming from the server it stops every 5-15 minutes giving me a message saying following:
Playback has stopped because the connection to the Plex Media Server has been lost. Please ensure the server is available and retry.
When I click retry it works again straight away. If I watch how much the load progress is I can see that in the first 10 seconds it loads a large chunk and then starts loading very slowly (loads less than a minute per minute of watching) so it eventually catches up and gives me the message again. I just don't understand why it is able to do a large chunk in seconds but then it slows by so much. Does anybody have any ideas?