No GUI for Admin

General support questions
Post Reply
Gseroje
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018/11/15 23:00:28

No GUI for Admin

Post by Gseroje » 2018/11/15 23:06:43

So I am having this Issue on my CentOS 7 computer where if I use the startx command on the root account the GUI launches up just fine but when I use the startx command it says x server has refused connection. This is only for Admin account, I used a normal user and the GUI launched just fine but when I remove admin privileges from that account it still wont work. Any Ideas?

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1552
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by hunter86_bg » 2018/11/16 15:39:11

Try with

Code: Select all

systemctl isolate graphical.target
If you want it always with GUI , then run:

Code: Select all

systemctl set-default graphical.target

Gseroje
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018/11/15 23:00:28

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by Gseroje » 2018/11/18 18:00:35

Thank you that worked!!

Gseroje
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018/11/15 23:00:28

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by Gseroje » 2019/01/07 16:36:40

update, I have been using systemctl isolate graphical.target for a while now but from what i can tell it stopped working ever since I installed wine, I cant get to the GUI, yet again.

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1552
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by hunter86_bg » 2019/01/07 17:12:21

Any errors in /var/log/messages or in the journal (journalctl -xe )?

Gseroje
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018/11/15 23:00:28

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by Gseroje » 2019/01/07 22:18:23

I haven't checked but I doubt there would be any because it just gives a solid black screen until i turn off the device

Mike_Rochefort
Posts: 121
Joined: 2016/03/16 02:34:19

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by Mike_Rochefort » 2019/01/09 16:34:42

It may give a solid black screen on that session, but you might be able to switch to an alternate like Ctrl+Alt+F2 or other. Those TTY shells should hopefully be unaffected.

Cheers,
Mike

Gseroje
Posts: 5
Joined: 2018/11/15 23:00:28

Re: No GUI for Admin

Post by Gseroje » 2019/01/10 18:02:26

no that didn't work still the same thing

Post Reply