Xfce4 service not available

General support questions
Post Reply
mahmood
Posts: 88
Joined: 2017/06/04 12:21:09

Xfce4 service not available

Post by mahmood » 2018/11/16 10:46:41

I have installed xcfe desktop manager, However, I don't see the corresponding service in /usr/lib/systemd/system/

Code: Select all

[root@rocks7 ~]# find /usr/lib/systemd/system/ -name xfc*
[root@rocks7 ~]# yum list xfce*
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, langpacks
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * base: mirror.plusweb.com.tr
 * epel: mirror.ps.kz
Installed Packages
xfce-polkit.x86_64                                            0.2-8.el7                                  @epel
xfce4-appfinder.x86_64                                        4.12.0-4.el7                               @epel
xfce4-panel.x86_64                                            4.12.1-4.el7                               @epel
xfce4-power-manager.x86_64                                    1.6.0-2.el7                                @epel
xfce4-pulseaudio-plugin.x86_64                                0.2.5-2.el7                                @epel
xfce4-session.x86_64                                          4.12.1-8.el7                               @epel
xfce4-session-engines.x86_64                                  4.12.1-8.el7                               @epel
xfce4-settings.x86_64                                         4.12.1-1.el7                               @epel
xfce4-terminal.x86_64                                         0.8.7.4-2.el7                              @epel
What is missing here?

User avatar
TrevorH
Forum Moderator
Posts: 24046
Joined: 2009/09/24 10:40:56
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: Xfce4 service not available

Post by TrevorH » 2018/11/16 12:14:50

It won't have a service, it's an alternative desktop and that's a per user choice, not a service.
CentOS 5 died in March 2017 - migrate NOW!
Full time Geek, part time moderator. Use the FAQ Luke

mahmood
Posts: 88
Joined: 2017/06/04 12:21:09

Re: Xfce4 service not available

Post by mahmood » 2018/11/16 13:03:58

So, how can I fully replace gnome with other things in the config files? I wanted to do that for one user, but since they are using vnc, it seems that it is not very easy to do.
I think it is easier to replace the whole desktop manager, so that when vnc wants to connect to the desktop, it will connect to whatever it is...

Post Reply