Page 1 of 1

systemctl going from multi-user to graphical runlevel 3 to 5

Posted: 2019/03/16 15:48:20
by ron7000
just learning about systemctl.
After having installed centos-7.6.1810 as server with gui I have done

Code: Select all

systemctl set-default multi-user.target
this works fine, I reboot and i am in runlevel 3 no graphics get the prompt and I log in [as root].

I then do

Code: Select all

 systemctl isolate graphical.target
and that fails. But if I do init 5 it launches GDM and whatever else and I get graphics.

Do I keep using init or what is the proper systemctl command? thanks.

Re: systemctl going from multi-user to graphical runlevel 3 to 5

Posted: 2019/03/16 16:54:31
by TrevorH
In what way does systemctl isolate fail?

Re: systemctl going from multi-user to graphical runlevel 3 to 5

Posted: 2019/03/16 17:24:51
by ron7000
ha, it's working now. don't know why.

exploring installing installing nvidia graphics card driver and also nvidia cuda, do not want to deal with elrepo and kmod stuff (for now) I feel more comfortable getting the .run files directly from Nvidia, which will support K, P, and V nvidia cards in servers.

What I did was
  • install from7.6-1810 from dvd, on optiplex7010 test pc with k600 graphics card, server with gui, works fine on nouveau.
  • modify grub command line to blacklist nouveau, reboot, graphics completely busted can't log in gaphically so trick is to
  • systemctl set-default multi-user.target, then modify /etc/default/grub and do grub2-mkconfig, then reboot.
  • reboots into runlevel 3, tried "systemctl isolate graphical.target;" and that failed gave some error so i did "nit 5" and that worked. This was after doing a full software update after dvd install.
  • So i rebooted again, after installing nvidia and cuda .run files, cam into runlevel 3, installed NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-418.43.run successfully, then rebooted, came into runlevel 3 I then used "systemctl isolate graphical.target" and it worked.
  • then went back to run level 3 and installed systemctl isolate graphical.target
  • as well as settings "fips=1 boot=UUID=blabla" and doing dracut -v -f" followed by another "grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/efi/efi/centos/grub2.cfg"
I am using successfully using

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="rhgb verbose rd.driver.blacklist=nouveau modprobe.blacklist=nouveau nouveau.modeset=0 fips=1 boot=UUID=5ef7d520-7b65-4816-abff-85ad46533c36"
FYI... I think fips through a /var/run/nologin into the mix causing pam_nologin to take effect and could only log in as root afterward, until I deleted /var/run/nologin

Re: systemctl going from multi-user to graphical runlevel 3 to 5

Posted: 2019/03/16 17:51:00
by TrevorH
If you use the .run files then you will need to reinstall them each and every time there is a kernel update. If you use the ELRepo ones then they usually only need it when a new point release comes along (next up 7.7).