Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

General support questions
Post Reply
talentmedia
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015/04/21 00:15:38

Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by talentmedia » 2019/09/14 19:35:20

I have Centos7 installed on my machine but it will not load up. When loading it sends me to a screen and says check if polkit is running. Please see the picture https://imgur.com/a/6UtySYy | Anyone know how to fix this? | I can get to the command line.

I tried installling a new version of centos7 but the usb disk fails when I try to select the partition to install centos7 on. That probably because there is already a copy of centos installed.

Any help is greatly appreciated, this is my bottleneck.

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1903
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by hunter86_bg » 2019/09/15 05:29:16

Do you have older kernels ?
If yes, what happens when you try to boot an old kernel?

You can boot from live dvd media to check the system logs. The CentOS DVD has a rescue option that can also be used.

What have you done recently ?

talentmedia
Posts: 3
Joined: 2015/04/21 00:15:38

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by talentmedia » 2019/09/15 20:19:57

I don't have any older kernels.
I am booting from live media.
I tried to use the rescue option but it didnt do anything. When I was to choose 1 I choose it but does nothing.

I am trying to wipe a hard drive out and install Centos but the partition is locked in gparted that I am trying to wipe out.

jmacdougca
Posts: 47
Joined: 2017/12/09 00:49:14
Location: CoQuitlam, BC
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by jmacdougca » 2019/09/20 20:03:57

I found this article where the author says its his fiailed hard drives.
viewtopic.php?t=71560
So that has to be the issue for me.

So now the game switches into options,
option1) learn how to format a disk with an IS on it already
option2) learn to fix the disks.
Start less finish more

jmacdougca
Posts: 47
Joined: 2017/12/09 00:49:14
Location: CoQuitlam, BC
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by jmacdougca » 2019/09/21 01:03:09

Code: Select all

[powerhouse@theBeast ~]$ cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] 
md126 : active raid5 sde[1] sdd[0]
      3907021824 blocks super external:/md127/0 level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 0 [3/2] [UU_]
      
md127 : inactive sdd[1](S) sde[0](S)
      5230 blocks super external:imsm
       
unused devices: <none>
So I know sda needs to be removed and the raid5 needs to be re-assembled and then format sda to install a fresh Centos
Last edited by jmacdougca on 2019/09/21 20:43:51, edited 1 time in total.
Start less finish more

jmacdougca
Posts: 47
Joined: 2017/12/09 00:49:14
Location: CoQuitlam, BC
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by jmacdougca » 2019/09/21 20:43:27

Code: Select all

sda                               8:0    0 447.1G  0 disk  
├─sda1                            8:1    0   200M  0 part  
├─sda2                            8:2    0     1G  0 part  
└─sda3                            8:3    0   446G  0 part  
  ├─centos-swap                 253:3    0  31.4G  0 lvm   
  ├─centos-home                 253:4    0 364.5G  0 lvm   
  └─centos-root                 253:5    0    50G  0 lvm   
sdb                               8:16   0 447.1G  0 disk  
├─sdb1                            8:17   0   200M  0 part  /boot/efi
├─sdb2                            8:18   0     1G  0 part  /boot
└─sdb3                            8:19   0   446G  0 part  
  ├─fedora_localhost--live-root 253:0    0    70G  0 lvm   /
  ├─fedora_localhost--live-swap 253:1    0  31.5G  0 lvm   [SWAP]
  └─fedora_localhost--live-home 253:2    0 344.5G  0 lvm   /home
sdc                               8:32   0   1.8T  0 disk  
sdd                               8:48   0   1.8T  0 disk  
└─md126                           9:126  0   3.7T  0 raid5 
  ├─md126p1                     259:0    0   200M  0 part  
  └─md126p3                     259:1    0   3.7T  0 part  
sde                               8:64   0   1.8T  0 disk  
└─md126                           9:126  0   3.7T  0 raid5 
  ├─md126p1                     259:0    0   200M  0 part  
  └─md126p3                     259:1    0   3.7T  0 part  
sdf                               8:80   1  28.9G  0 disk  
├─sdf1                            8:81   1    10G  0 part  /run/media/powerhouse/CentOS 7 x86_64
└─sdf2                            8:82   1   8.5M  0 part  
sr0                              11:0    1  1024M  0 rom   
Start less finish more

jmacdougca
Posts: 47
Joined: 2017/12/09 00:49:14
Location: CoQuitlam, BC
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by jmacdougca » 2019/09/21 20:46:14

sda needs to be formatted and have Centos installed. But how I used gparted before but cant because the hard drive is locked.

sdc, sdd, sde, need to be reduilt into a raid5. But how? I do not know how to use the raid tools.
Start less finish more

hunter86_bg
Posts: 1903
Joined: 2015/02/17 15:14:33
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Centos Wont Load | Check if Polkit Service is Running

Post by hunter86_bg » 2019/09/22 19:18:20

You can start with

Code: Select all

man mdadm

Post Reply

Return to “CentOS 7 - General Support”