No VGA input after new install

General support questions
happysmile

No VGA input after new install

Post by happysmile » 2019/11/04 13:00:03

I am a new guy.I am new to linux.I want my old laptop install redhat6.
I want to just install the full multiuser mode,which means just textual-based operating system.
I am really confused,I installed the os,but when I link the display (VGA),the display say no input signal...
Minimal install system.I don't know why?please help me.Thanks!!!

scottro
Forum Moderator

Re: No VGA input after new install

Post by scottro » 2019/11/04 22:14:56

I changed your subject to something more useful than Please Help me, which is the sort of title that will be ignored.

I'm sorry, I don't have the answer to your issue but I can offer the following advice.
You may want to look at How to ask questions the smart way which gives a good explanation of phrasing questions so that you're more likely to get an answer. While it is written more for programmers, it is still useful for anyone posting a question to a forum or mailing list.

http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
New users should check the FAQ and Read Me First pages

TrevorH
Site Admin

Post by TrevorH » 2019/11/04 22:23:47

"redhat6"?

Do you mean RHEL 6 as in Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6? or do you mean Red Hat Linux 6?

If the former then really you should probably install something newer as RHEL 6 only has one year of life left. If you meant RHL6 then I hope this is for some sort of history lesson and not something you intend to run for real?
The future appears to be RHEL or Debian. I think I'm going Debian.
Info for USB installs on http://wiki.centos.org/HowTos/InstallFromUSBkey
CentOS 5 and 6 are deadest, do not use them.
Use the FAQ Luke

desertcat

Post by desertcat » 2019/11/04 23:01:49

happysmile wrote:
2019/11/04 13:00:03
I want to just install the full multiuser mode,which means just textual-based operating system.